Amazing Cheeseburger Pie

A few days ago, my husband brought a letter home for me from a co-worker named Vicky.  Enclosed, along with the sweetest letter was a recipe for cheeseburger pie.  Upon first glance, the recipe seemed a little plain but I knew if Vicky had included it, it must be something I had to try.  I bought all of the ingredients and made it the next day.  It was very easy to throw together and made the most delicious comfort food I have had in a long time.  It was truly fabulous and will forever be a staple in our home.  Vicky, I can not thank you enough for sharing such a wonderful recipe with me (and for giving me permission to share).

Ingredients:

1 package of pre-made pie crust (feel free to make your own.  I had never used pre-made before but was pleasantly surprised at how good it was since I am generally not a big fan of the pre-made crusts/doughs. You can also use 2 packages Crescent rolls, just remember to grease your pan if you do.

1 lb ground beef

1 cup (8oz.) tomato sauce

1 medium onion, chopped

1 can mushrooms (optional)

1 small can sliced black olives

2 eggs

7 slices of cheddar or American cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Place one crust in the bottom of your pie pan.  Push it against the sides to secure it.  If you are using crescent rolls, use one package for the bottom crust, pinching the seams together.

Brown hamburger with onions.  Add mushrooms.  Drain hamburger and add olives and tomato sauce.  Add salt and pepper here too to taste. Heat until warm, pour onto bottom crust.

Beat one egg and one egg white well (do not discard the unused yolk).  I have never owned an egg separator because I feel like my fingers work just as well and it dirties one less dish.  Just crack the egg in half, removing the top half of the shell over a bowl.  Turn the egg out into your fingers and let the white fall through your fingers.  Drop the yolk back in the half shell until you are ready to use it.

Pour egg over the top of the hamburger mixture.  Add cheese slices, laying evenly across the top.

Place top crust over hamburger.  Fold edges over the bottom crust and pinch them together until the whole thing is sealed.  Crimp edges using the knuckle of your left hand (or right if you are a lefty) and pinch with your right hand around the whole crust.

Brush egg yolk over the top of the crust and cut slits in the top so your pie can vent.

Bake at 325 degrees F for 40-50 minutes until it is nice and golden brown.  Let the pie cool for 10 minutes, then serve.

2 comments on “Amazing Cheeseburger Pie

  1. Donald says:

    Looks great! My Mom used to make us something around the same idea, which we called the Colossal Cheeseburger. She used the Crescent Rolls for the crust (awesome!), and then to kick it up, I started making it with a can of Sloppy Joe Sauce instead of the plain Tomato. Always a crowd pleaser.

Leave a comment