Grilled Wild Turkey Rolls

Since I have been the queen of slacking on my blog lately, I decided that since I had reached over 10,000 views, I really need to get back in the saddle and give all of my amazing faithful followers some more yummy recipes.  Would you believe me if I told you that I was just giving you all time to try all of my recipes for the past month so I wouldn’t overwhelm you with new recipes? ….No?… Well, it was worth a try 🙂 My camera is at maximum capacity with all of the pictures of the yummy recipes I have for you.  If I only had a little elf who could take all of the thoughts and recipes out of my head along with the pictures from my camera and post them for me.

This recipe was so off the charts-amazing! My husband, Shawn went turkey hunting in Kansas City and brought home a beautiful giant turkey.  I had no clue what to do with it as I have never cooked wild turkey before.  Word on the street was, I had to marinade the breasts, cube it and wrap it in bacon with a slice of jalapeno.  I didn’t know what marinade to use so I made one myself and the whole package was dyne-o-mite!

Of course, most of us don’t have wild turkey breasts readily available; however, I am totally convinced you could wrap anything in bacon and add a jalapeno and it would be fabulous.  I also heard that adding a little cube of cream cheese in the middle makes them Turkey Poppers *drool*.

Ingredients:

Marinade:

1/4 cup olive oil

2 Tbsp white vinegar

2 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 tsp ground pepper

2 cloves minced garlic or 1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp salt

1 Tbsp brown sugar

1 lb thick cut peppered bacon.  You will get 2 rolls for each piece of bacon so plan accordingly with the number of mouths you will be feeding.  I ALWAYS buy my bacon at the butcher counter.  At most grocery stores, you can find super thick, meaty, peppered bacon for right around the same price (or cheaper when it’s on sale) as the pre-packaged bacon where you get 2 square inches of a window to guess if the bacon actually looks that good or if they have laid it in such a way that the only actual meat on the bacon is showing in that little window.  Seriously, that just isn’t fair.

1 can pickled, sliced jalapenos.  If you are not a big fan of super spicy stuff, get the “tamed” jalapenos.  They still have all that yummy flavor without lighting your mouth on fire.

1-1 and 1/2 lbs wild turkey breast or meat of your choice. Again, plan accordingly with your bacon slices.  You will be cutting your meat into 1 and 1/2″ cubes.  I think sirloin, chicken breast, turkey breast, and venison would all be really delicious choices.   The turkey breast I used was somewhere around 2-3 lbs so I had about 1 lb extra marinated meat I just froze for next time.

Directions:

Cut meat into 1 and 1/2″ cubes.  Mix marinade.  Let meat marinade for a minimum of 2 hours. (Seriously, check out that giant turkey breast! It took up my entire cutting board!)

Cut each piece of bacon in half.  Place one slice of jalapeno and once cube of turkey into center of bacon slice.  Tightly roll bacon over turkey and hold in place with a toothpick.

After cleaning your grill, heat grill to medium heat (around 300-350 degrees).  Place rolls on sides and cook slowly turning every few minutes.  Be sure to keep a spray bottle handy because you will be chasing flare-ups from the bacon grease the entire time.  Once, the bacon is fully cooked, your meat should also be fully cooked.  Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.  If you are making these for party favors, they will stay plenty juicy in a warm oven until ready to serve.  They are also really amazing the next day so don’t throw out your leftovers!

15 comments on “Grilled Wild Turkey Rolls

  1. Colleen Tendall says:

    This recipe is amazing! It was so good and my husband loved it! You really need to have a water bottle when grilling but it was worth it!

  2. […] by and images from SomethingSweetSomethingSalty.wordpress.com. Check out the site for tons of amazing […]

  3. Greg Herndon says:

    what would be wrong with using metal skewars and simply layin a piece of bacon across the line of meat?? im skipping the jalepeno’s … hate em

    • Hey Greg. Nothing would be wrong with doing that, you would just end up with a different product, not a “turkey roll” or “popper” style but just chicken skewers. You could wrap them all in bacon and put them on a skewer instead of the toothpicks? The bacon wrap does give them a lot of flavor and juiciness that they wouldn’t get as much of with just one piece layer across the top but I’m sure it would still be good.

  4. Trish says:

    Instead of tooth picks..cant i just use a skewer to hold a bunch together?

    • Yes this is such a great idea and one I wish I had thought of sooner! We ended up doing this with Venison Rolls on Thanksgiving and it was so much easier! (Sorry for the delayed response, my blog has been down for several weeks and I just figured out what the problem was).

  5. Todd Johnston says:

    Just tried this recipe. It turned out great! Thanks so much!

  6. […] Read full Story […]

  7. Jana says:

    WOW! Unbelievably delicious! I didn’t have brown sugar, so I poured a little maple syrup (Mrs. Buttersworth) in there. That never hurts anything! Ha!

  8. S. K. Robertson says:

    This is absolutely the best wild turkey this family has ever eaten. Because we were using an older frozen turkey, we put the chunks (in the marinade) in a 170 degree oven for a couple of hours before making them into the rolls. Also, we used coconut sugar instead of brown sugar. This is a keeper!

  9. […] For full recipe and method please visit SomethingSweetSomethingSalty.com […]

  10. Darcy O. says:

    Well, Jamie has one weekend left to bring home a wild turkey so we can try this recipe!!!

Leave a comment