Strawberry Crepes

These are by far my families FAVORITE breakfast food. The only problem with this recipe is, no matter how much I make, it is never enough. My boys(ages 4 and 6) eat 6-7 crepes a piece! It seems as though I can’t get more than one bite in my mouth before I am needing to assemble another for the boys. We usually have to cook some eggs and bacon on the side as a filler. These are always a winner for entertaining as well.

This recipe makes approximately 15 crepes.

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups milk

2 eggs

2 tablespoons margarine or butter, melted

1/2 tsp vanilla

Fresh or frozen strawberries (approx. 3-4 cups)

1/4-1/2 cup sugar (depending on how sweet you like them)

Powdered sugar for dusting top

Directions:

Slice fresh strawberries or defrost frozen strawberries (I use my egg slice slicer to slice fresh strawberries). Add sugar, let stand until sugar is dissolved.

Mix flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. Add 1 cup milk to the flour mixture. Beat with mixer on medium speed until no clumps remain, adding more milk if necessary. Add eggs and vanilla. Beat until completely smooth. Add remaining milk. Mix until combined.

Lightly butter 6-8 inch non-stick skillet; (Hard Anodized Non-Stick won’t work; you need a pan that is coated with Teflon, or one that is very slick. I got mine at Ross Dress for Less for $8 and it works great). Heat over medium-high heat. Add a scant 1/4 cup batter to center of pan. Working quickly, pick up pan. Tilt pan around in a circle so that the batter covers the entire bottom of the pan. Keep tilting until the batter stops spreading. Cook for 15-30 seconds or until bottom is golden brown. Flip over. Cook other side for 15-30 seconds.

Place on a plate. Separate each crepe with a small square of parchment or wax paper.

Fill crepe with berries and whipped cream (the kids like the Redi-Whip in the can so they can apply their own). Fold sides in and top with powdered sugar.

Eat 5 or 6 before announcing breakfast is ready 🙂

You can make many variations of these, filling with baked apples,cherry pie filling, different berries, mascarpone, syrup, etc. You can also omit the sugar and fill with savory fillings.

Crepes store very nicely in the fridge for several days. You can also freeze them. Just be sure to keep the wax/parchment papers in between before putting them in a Ziplock.

7 comments on “Strawberry Crepes

  1. Darcy O. says:

    So thank you for making me gain weight! I made these for my kids and nephew with rice milk (couldn’t tell the difference-worked great!)…..so who’s kids don’t like something sweet topped with powedered sugar and cool whip (dairy free!)???????????? Oh mine! Yes, they are weird!!!!! So,I ate a lot of them, okay most of them. I saved the batter in the fridge and made them when the craving hit again! Yep, I did gain weight-pretty sure!

    • Darcy, I secretly wish my kids didn’t like them! It seems like an eternity by the time I finally get to sit down and eat some crepes myself. My kids seriously inhale these things like candy. I always feel a little ripped off at the end when there are only two left for me 🙂 Maybe we should get together and make a double batch (at your house, where my kids are nowhere to be seen) and just binge on them… yes, I like that idea!

  2. Deana says:

    I love crepes my only problem is it takes me forever to make enough for my bunch………..yours look perfect….

    • I totally know what you are talking about. I made them when we had 19 people at our house for family reunion and I thought I was going to die! I stood at that stove for hours making crepes. They were being eaten faster than I could produce them. Can’t wait for summer so I can make them with strawberries from the garden. Thanks again Deana!

  3. Kristi Winebarger says:

    Officially my new FAVORITE breakfast!! OMG these are fantastic!!! My kids agree!

  4. Kristi Winebarger says:

    These look fantastic. Going to make them for breakfast this morning but have 1 question. The listed ingredients show vanilla but I don’t see in the directions when you added that in? Can’t wait to try these!!

Leave a comment