Creamy Tuna Casserole

Where have you been????  I know… I think I may have literally dropped off the face of the earth.  The truth is, my husband travels A LOT for work and we had a few weeks where he was home almost every night.  I just needed to soak it all in and that is just what I did.  🙂 Now that he is safely in tornado-ville for the week (yikes), I feel so anxious to blog all of the recipes I have been selfishly keeping locked in my little camera.  I have so many to share, I don’t even know where to start.  At least I can rule a few out because a lot of my recipes are born in my kitchen the day I cook them and since I have the worst (no, really, THE WORST) memory, some will have to wait until next time because I won’t remember what I put in them.  I do this thing where I make something and the little angel on my right shoulder whispers “maybe you should write this down” but then the “other guy” on my left shoulder will reassure me that I will for sure be able to remember all of these ingredients and their amounts.  Give me an hour around my children and …whooosh… gone!  It really is like magic the way my brain works.  One minute it’s there, the next, like it never even happened.  Ask my husband, he would be more than happy to verify this and can probably give you a couple of daily examples… Okay, on to food!!!

I know there are a few anti-tuna fish people in this world.  You either love it or you hate it.  I happen to love it.  And for those of you who agree with me, my next 2 posts are really yummy, quick and easy recipes from my childhood that can be thrown together in a few minutes, and with a little oven time, result in a delicious dinner that the whole family will love (unless of course one of those family members hates tuna :))

Ingredients:

2-7 oz cans tuna-fish (I use solid white albacore but any kind will work)

1/2 cup low-fat sour cream

1 cup milk

2 Tbsp heavy cream (I know it seems funny after using low-fat sour cream but I accidentally came upon this combo when trying low-fat sour cream one time in the recipe.  It wasn’t nearly creamy enough so I added the heavy cream to compensate and the results were perfect.)

1/2 tsp salt or more to taste

1/2 tsp pepper

1 cup Italian breadcrumbs

1/3 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

2 Tbsp melted butter

1-16 oz bag extra-wide egg noodles

1 Tbsp salt (for noodle water)

Directions:

Cook noodles as directed on package in salted water.  While noodles are boiling, mix tuna, milk, heavy cream, sour cream, salt and pepper in a casserole dish.  Mix until well combined.

Drain noodles and add to tuna mixture. Set aside.

Stir together breadcrumbs and Parmesan cheese.  Add melted butter and stir until crumbly.

Top tuna/noodle mixture with breadcrumb mixture and bake at 350 degrees F for 20-25 minutes or until breadcrumbs are golden brown.

4 comments on “Creamy Tuna Casserole

  1. […] Reblogged from Something Sweet Something Salty: […]

  2. dyannecox3165 says:

    Reblogged this on dyannecox.

  3. Andrea says:

    Our memories must be related. It’s the worst!! The only real memories of my life are things I feel guilty about (i.e. getting mad at Heather and pushing her in the bathroom tub and other mean-older-sister things). She’s the good, forgiving type and every so often she’ll call me all excited, “Guess what?! I thought of a good HAPPY memory!” I can’t ever remember when she tells me, but it makes me feel better that HER memories aren’t all me being a total jerk. 🙂 I feel your pain! XOXO 🙂

    • I barely remember anything from my childhood either…. except the awful things my sister did to me… hahaha. I remember a lot of the things I am told constantly (like how messy of an eater I was). Maybe my messy eating inspired me to love food 🙂

Leave a Reply

