Biscuits and Ham Gravy

Sounds kind of crazy right? It is seriously crazy good! I like the flavor of sausage but I never like feeding it to my family.  First of all, seeing all of the fat and little pieces of veins and whatever else is ground up in there is mildly off-putting.  I always seem to bite into little chunks of gristle or bone . Frankly, it kind of grosses me out.

That being said, my mom makes the BEST biscuits and sausage gravy on the planet so I took a version of her recipe and replaced the sausage with ham.  You can definitely eat it with confidence. We are using canola oil instead of sausage fat and milk instead of heavy cream so even though it’s not really a low-fat recipe, it is so much better for you and your family and it tastes amazing.  As far as the biscuits go, I have made a ton of different recipes and they always come up short to the good ol’ Pillsbury Grands.  I love the fluffy flakiness and always seem disappointed in the homemade kind. If you have a recipe that produces fluffy, flakey biscuits, I would be forever thankful if you would share it and with  your permission, I would love to share it on my blog.

OK! Let’s get down to gravy…

Ingredients:

2 cups diced ham (Get out your leftovers *see “Fall-Off-the-Bone Crock Pot Ham”) or replace with sausage

4 Tbsp butter (vegetable oil or vegetable shortening will also work just fine)

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup beef broth (as mentioned in other recipes, I use 1/2 c. water and 1/2 tsp beef base)

2 cups half-and-half (add a splash of heavy cream if you want to gravy to be extra creamy)

2 cups milk

1 tsp white pepper

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp seasoning salt, or salt to taste

Directions:

First order of business, preheat your oven and get your biscuits cooking.  (Don’t forget to set your timer).

In a large skillet, over medium-high heat add oil and ham.  Cook ham until it starts to turn a little golden around the edges.

Add the flour to the ham and oil.  Cook for 2-3 minutes stirring constantly.  You have now made a roux (plus ham) which is the basic thickening agent for most gravies, sauces, soups and stews. A roux is most commonly made with butter but can be made with any kind of vegetable oils, lard or rendered fat (aka meat drippings). When making a roux, you want to cook the mixture, stirring constantly for at least 2-3 minutes to eliminate that “floury” taste, cooking until the desired color is reached.  The darker your roux, the less thickening power it will have but darker colors = more flavor.  When cooking brown meat gravies, you should cook your roux until it is golden brown.  Darker brown roux is generally used for Cajun or creole cooking.  For our white gravy, we want the roux to have very little color and flavor so 2-3 minutes will be sufficient.

At this point you want to add your beef broth in a steady stream while stirring constantly.  The goal is to make our sauce smooth, not lumpy, so be sure you are always stirring.  This will thicken up fairly quickly so have your milk handy to start pouring before you have ham play dough on your hands.  Add the milk and half and half one cup at a time in a steady stream, stirring constantly. Stir until thickened before adding the next cup.  Once all of the milk is added and the mixture is thickening nicely, it is time to add your spices.  Taste your gravy before you add your seasoning salt.  I have a salty palette so you may not feel that the seasoning salt is necessary.  Again, always taste your food as you are cooking it to make sure you are adding the proper amount of spices along the way.

Once thickened, serve over biscuits (or hashbrowns).  I’m pretty sure after you have had ham gravy, you might be a convert for life.

I found the BEST biscuit recipe on the planet over at http://www.thechunkychef.com/buttermilk-biscuits-and-sausage-gravy/. They are crisp on the outside but so fluffy and moist on the inside. They are the perfect combination of salty and buttery. Check it out!

10 comments on “Biscuits and Ham Gravy

  1. Susan Matteson says:

    I too use 1% milk. When I made this, I used 2 cups of milk and that made my gravy loose enough. one and a half more cups would have been too much. Three TB of flour is not enough to thicken up 3 1/2 cps of milk.

    • Hi Susan. It has been a while since I wrote this recipe and I have made it 100 times since and always use about 1/4 cup flour. Usually I am eyeballing the recipes when I’m not blogging. I will edit it and change it to 1/4 cup. Thank you so much for your feedback! I really appreciate it.

  2. Lee says:

    Since it’s been a year since the last comment you may already have discovered this, but the best biscuits out there are the Pillsbury frozen buttermilk biscuits. They are every bit as good as the homemade biscuits my grandmother used to make.

  3. Al Fabyan says:

    Used chicken broth instead of beef. MMMMMM

  4. Jan S says:

    If you want the best damned biscuits ever, go get yourself a bag of White Lily self rising flour and use the recipe on the bag.

  5. biscuits and gravy does not exist in either of the countries i’ve lived in (canada and croatia) but every time i visit the usa i make sure to order it for breakfast at least once to get my fill. i had some leftover ham and a half batch of homemade biscuits and thought – hey! why not try to make that typical sausage gravy with ham instead? i found your recipe – admittedly i was skeptical at first because the recipe list looks like it will turn out a bit bland – i made it exactly as written and added some peas to the mix… it was love.ly. !! the pepper amounts really ‘make’ this. so simple, so delicious (so sinful) – thanks for the treat 🙂

  6. Mom says:

    I have to say, I feel privileged to have one of my recipes mentioned. So
    excited to try your new version. Sounds very good. I am feeling the need to go buy a ham to try out the recipes.

  7. Jennifer Adams says:

    This is what I need to start making so my hubby will stop taking the kids to get the biscuits and gravy from Dari Mart. Blech! I am sure after tasting this recipe they will never want to eat the Dari Mart variety again. 😉

Leave a comment