Garlic Rice

This is a recipe that I have grown up on and have always absolutely loved.

Ingredients:

1 cup long-grain white rice

2 Tbsp butter

2 cups chicken broth (or 2 tsp chicken base with 2 cups hot water mixed together)

3 large cloves of garlic, minced or crushed

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1 tsp chopped parsley (this is totally optional, I only add it if I’m trying to make it pretty)

Directions:

Soak rice in water for one hour. To be honest, I have no clue what this does to the rice but I have tried it without soaking the rice and it just isn’t the same.  Strain with a mesh strainer.

Heat butter in large skillet, add rice.

Cook rice until most of the grains are toasted a nice golden color, some a little darker.  You will need to stir occasionally to keep from burning.

Meanwhile in a medium-sized casserole dish, add 2 cups chicken broth, garlic, and garlic salt.

When rice is finished browning, add to casserole dish with broth mix.

Cover. Place in microwave.  Microwave on high for 7 minutes then for an additional 15-20 minutes on medium power. You may not know this, but you can set your microwave to do this all in one step.  For example, on my microwave, I push “time cook” “7-0-0”, “timecook” “1-5-0-0” “power” “5” and it will run the whole 22 minutes without me having to adjust the power level after the first 7 minutes.   Check at the end of 15 minutes to determine whether or not there is still moisture in your rice and needs to be cooked further. Fluff with fork.  Stir in parsley (if desired).

7 comments on “Garlic Rice

  1. Vicki says:

    Are the garlic cloves minced, or just left whole??

    • Hi Vicki! Thanks for catching that one. I usually use either minced garlic or I use my garlic press and crush the garlic, either way works just fine. I edited my recipe so every one else will know now. Sometimes my fingers type faster than my brain works so I always really appreciate it when someone catches those mistakes for me. Hope you enjoy your garlic rice! 🙂

  2. Kristi Winebarger says:

    OMGosh!!!! This is so yummy!!! I added some pinenuts to the rice cause I had them, they are expensive and I couldn’t remember WHY I bought them! Made it with General Tso’s Chicken!! My family can’t stop talking about tonight’s dinner!!!

  3. Andrea S. says:

    Do you think this would work with brown rice? Obviously the taste would be a little different but any thoughts to if it would work?

    • I’m guessing the replies I make on my iphone aren’t making it to my site. I’m sorry for the delay. Great question…I have never tried it with brown rice. I would definitely say that the broth and garlic would be great but I’m unsure about the frying and soaking. I will have to try it next time I make brown rice and I will let you know. Thanks for checking out my blog! Again, sorry for the delayed response.

Leave a Reply

