THE BEST Granola

20120613-093630.jpg

I really love granola but always have trouble finding a store-bought granola that I love, which means I generally end up making my own. I ran across this recipe on CDKitchen.com recently and am so in love with it. It has everything I love about granola, the perfect sweetness, a hint of cinnamon and a wonderful crunch.  If I could think of one negative thing, it would be that it doesn’t clump together which makes my impulsive handfuls a bit hard to shove into transfer to my mouth but if you are eating it with a spoon (or in yogurt), it is perfect! I guess it didn’t really stop me from eating it all day long yesterday but IF I had to think of something to complain about, that would be it.

Ingredients:

4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 and 1/2 cups nuts, I used 1/2 slivered almonds, 1/2 sunflower seeds
1 and 1/2 cups dried fruit, I used Craisins and golden raisins but dried cherries, strawberries, cherries, apples, or mangoes would all be wonderful
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup vegetable or canola oil
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Directions:

In a bowl, mix together the oats, nuts, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon. In a small saucepan, warm the oil and honey (measure your oil first so the measuring cup will have a nice non-stick coating for the honey.) Whisk in vanilla. It will separate easily but will all get mixed together when added to dry ingredients.


Carefully pour oil mixture over the oat mixture. Stir until all of the liquid is incorporated.

Spread granola in a 15×10 inch baking sheet (cookie sheet).

Bake for 35-40 minutes at 225 degrees, stirring carefully every 10 minutes. This is very important or your oats will burn, especially toward the end. Keep a close watch on it for the last 5 minutes. Mine only baked for 35 minutes and it was perfect.

Stir in dried fruit. When cooled completely, add chocolate chips. Seal in an airtight container. This freezes well too.

Leave a Reply

