Fall-Off-The-Bone Crock Pot Ham

chunks

I can almost guarantee that once you try this ham recipe, you will never go back to preparing your ham any other way.  Not only does this recipe completely free up your oven during the holidays for your turkey or dinner rolls or whatever else you may need it for, but the end result will leave you feeling like the king/queen of the kitchen because chances are, it will be the talk of the dinner table.  The ham is so tender; it falls apart and is so full of flavor.  We make this ham year round in our house because my family absolutely loves it and it enables us to have so many awesome options for quick meals with the leftovers.   You will want to eat the entire thing yourself.  You may find yourself limiting your guests to a small helping of ham because you are going to want those leftovers! :)

Ingredients:

1 Bone-in Ham

Here’s a little lesson on ham…At a regular grocery store, you will most likely have the option of a “Butt End/Portion” (the upper portion of the leg) or a “Shank End/Portion” (the lower portion of the leg). The “Butt ” cut generally has more meat than the “Shank ” cut, but also contains more fat and bone. The “Shank ” cut only has one large bone so it is a great choice if you will be carving your ham.  We won’t be doing much carving folks; it’s going to be falling apart on its own. If you are curious what the difference between the “End” and the “Portion” cuts are, I will enlighten you.  Have you ever bought the “Center Ham Slices” from the store? They are more like a ham steak, usually less than 1” thick.  This is the prime cut from the ham that is sliced from between the “Butt” and the “Shank” portions of the ham.  If you buy a ham labeled “Butt or Shank End,” you are buying a ham that still has that center slice attached.  If you buy the “Butt or Shank Portion,” that center slice has been removed.   

As far as our ham goes, I recommend the “Butt Portion” as our goal for this recipe in the crock pot is to find the shortest ham you can. We are good with bones and fat in a crock pot recipe because they are going to give us a ton of flavor.  Also a note on spirals… they will work just fine but tend to dry out a little more and don’t give you the delicious chunks of shredded ham.  You will just have a whole lot of tiny little pieces.    Whew! Let’s move on!

3 cups light brown sugar (I never measure, so this is just an approximate amount).

Directions:

brown sugar

Use about 1 and ½ cups of the brown sugar, or enough to cover the bottom of the crock pot in a ¼ inch layer.

plastic

Cut open your ham packaging and remove the plastic circle that is most likely covering the bone on the bottom side of the ham.

ham in pot

Place your ham face down on top of the brown sugar.

ham and sugar

Coat the top of the ham in a thick layer of brown sugar.

 

crockpot

Replace lid.  If your ham is too tall to fit the lid on top, cover with a few pieces of foil.  Try to get as tight a seal as possible.

Cook over high heat for 6-7 hours or low heat for 8-10 hours. I like to flip the ham at least once during the last hour or two of cooking to ensure the entire ham gets to soak in all the yummy juices.

fork

You know the ham is done when you can poke in a fork and easily shred the ham.  The hams are already pre-cooked before they are packaged so if you happen to run short on time and have to pull it out before it starts falling apart, it will still be ok to eat. 

Remove from crock pot and serve in chunks.

Don’t worry about cleaning off the bone too much because you can save the bone and scraps for a split pea and ham soup or ham and navy bean soup. 

I usually save some of the ham chunks for leftovers and sandwiches but the rest I cube up and freeze for convenient additions to other meals.  Use a handful for omelets, breakfast burritos, biscuits and ham gravy, baked macaroni and cheese with ham, etc. This is primarily why I make ham year-round.  I love the convenience of having it in the freezer for go-to meals. 

Stay tuned as I will be using some of my left-overs in other recipes.

159 comments on “Fall-Off-The-Bone Crock Pot Ham

  1. Mom says:

    I love the leftover ideas. You make it all sound simply simple. I look forward to sneaking these recipes in.

  2. Andrea says:

    I didn’t write the type of ham down on my list, so I couldn’t remember what kind you said to get. So, looks like I ended up with a “Pork shoulder, ham picnic”. Is that going to be a big deal?

    • Hey Andrea! I am so excited that you are trying these recipes. The picnic ham will work just fine. It is just cut from the front leg instead of the back so it just isn’t a “traditional ham”. It is usually a little tougher texture wise but since you are doing it in the crock pot, it shouldn’t really make a difference. If you find that it isn’t falling apart like it should, maybe just give it a little extra time. Should still work great though. Good luck! Let me know how it goes.

  3. Andrea says:

    Well, I was so excited to try this because it smelled soooo good, that I grabbed a piece of ham right out of the crock pot, popped it in my mouth and FRIED MY TONGUE!! I have no taste on the whole front of my tongue, but the family thought it was yummy and I’ll have to go with what they say, since I can’t tell. :) So easy, too!!! Thanks!

  4. Jaime says:

    I made this ham recipe and was SO glad I did! Easiest dinner ever made (it included your Brussels sprouts recipe), it’s so nice to have dinner ready when I get home! And a HUGE thanks for including leftovers ideas :) This was truly tasty and I will be making it a regular meal!

  5. Rachel says:

    Hi, this recipe looks delicious! Kind of a silly question – Do you start out with a pre-cooked or raw ham?

    • Hi Rachel… Definitely not a silly question – I always buy the pre-cooked. If you choose an uncooked ham, you will most likely need more cooking time and will need to be sure that your ham reaches proper temperatures to kill the bacteria. Be sure that the ham is cured because you get a lot of flavor from the curing. I would suggest just sticking with the pre-cooked. I think you run in to quality differences when you start talking about brining and smoking hams. A simple cured precooked ham should do the trick. Thanks so much for checking out my blog. Let me know if you have any more questions.

  6. Chelsi says:

    I have a fresh shank, bottom of the leg, that we got from our butcher. It’s not cured, well it doesn’t say so on the package. With is being frozen it weights just shy of 3lbs. Would covering it in brown sugar provide enough flavor? Do I need to “score” it? I need it to be cooked in the crockpot for time purposes. How long should i leave it in the crockpot and on high or low? Thank you for your expertise!!

    • Great questions! Well i personally have never bought an uncooked/uncured ham but here is what I know… The curing process adds a lot of salt and flavor to the ham as well as makes it more bacteria-resistant therefore cooking it with only brown sugar may end up tasting a bit like a plain pork roast cooked in brown sugar. You may look into possibly brining it or look for a recipe for an uncured ham (it will likely involve lots of salt) then instead of putting it in the oven, use your crockpot. Is there a lot of fat on it? if so, maybe trim it down a bit but do leave about 1/4 inch (depth) of fat for moisture and flavoring. Be sure you let it reach 170 degrees since it is uncooked then cook it beyond that if you want it to fall off the bone. Good luck! Please let me know what how you did it and how it turns out. I’m very curious. Oh, as far as cooking time, I would assume it would take at least an hour or so longer than the cooked hams because we are cooking beyond just safe internal temp to get it to fall off the bone. I hope it works out for you!!!

  7. Jennifer says:

    I googled today for a recipe for my shank ham, bone in (10 lbs). We cook BIG for our large family. Well I printed off this recipe. I had to cover the ham with tinfoil as it was too big for the cover. It’s been on high 6 hours. I just checked it and it is absolutely AWESOME!! I would never ever have added brown sugar before. The juices are a rich, dark brown and will make an excellent gravy (which maybe you have a good gravy recipe). The ham is falling off the bone. Mmmmm!!! The house smells of sweet ham bone on this dreary, rainy, soon-to-snow day in northern MN. Thanks for the recipe.

    PS: I have always hated to cook. Starting Sept. 1 I decided that I would use our great internet to meal plan. I’ve found many good recipes. Thanks for sharing yours. And the pics help tremendously. God bless!

    • Oh I am so excited for you to eat it! You have know idea how much I love hearing feedback (especially when it is positive :)) so you just made my day. If you happen to have leftovers, I have several recipes that go along with the ham on my blog: Breakfast Burritos, Biscuits and Ham Gravy (our personal favorite) and Garlic Greenbeans w/ Ham. Let me know if you have any questions! Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments!
      Alissa

  8. amy says:

    I have a 6 lb shank end bone in ham. How long should that cook in the slow cooker? I didn’t see a weight for your ham recipe to compare cooking times to weights. Thanks! I can’t wait to try this tomorrow!

    • Great question! I generally cook a 5-6 lb ham for about 6-7 hours on high. There is a lot of wiggle room. The longer you cook it, the more tender it will be. The ham is precooked so if you have to pull it out a little early, it will still be great but might require a knife instrad of just falling apart. If it gets done early, place your crockpot on warm or low until you are ready to take it out. Good luck!!!

      • Amy Hill says:

        Thanks so much! I just got it in the crock pot and can’t wait for tonight! Amy

        Sent from my iPad

  9. Meg says:

    I made this tonight and it was DELICIOUS! My father gave me a 5lb butt portion last week and I had no idea what to do with it, so a google search brought me to your website a few days ago. This recipe seemed too simple, but the ham turned out moist, tender, and incredibly delicious. This recipe is definitely one I will use again, and often. Thank you!

    • Meg,
      I am so glad you loved it. After making my ham this way the first time, I have converted all of my friends and family and will probably never make it any other way. Thank you so much for taking the time to give me your feedback!!! It always makes me happy :) Have a great week!

  10. Julie says:

    I am so excited to try this recipe. Do you think adding pineapple slices and the juice would be a good addition?

    • Hi Julie! If you are used to cooking the ham with pineapple then it would probably be great. The brown sugar suprisingly doesn’t make it overly sweet at all. It’s a perfect blend of sweet, smokey and salty so the pineapple would probably compliment it nicely. If you try it, do me a favor and shoot me another comment to let me know if you liked it w/ pineapple. You will fall in love with this recipe regardless. Thank you for visiting my blog!!!

  11. Pat says:

    Did you cut any of the fat off the ham before putting the brown sugar on?

    • Hi Pat! No, I didn’t cut any of the fat off. A lot of it will just melt off and run through the ham to make is super juicy and tender but there is always a large layer of it that I remove after it is done cooking. It will just roll right off. Good luck! You will love this ham! Happy Thanksgiving!

  12. Karen says:

    I have a 6th crock pot slow cooker and I’ve never used such a thing in my life. I wanted to ask you, do you add water to the pot? Probably a silly question. I haven’t opened the box yet.

    Thanks,
    K

    • Hi Karen. I’m not sure what a 6th crockpot is… Thinking maybe that is a typo? (Possibly 6qt?) You do not add any water to this specific ham recipe…Just the brown sugar and ham and you are in for a delicious dinner and possibly some great leftovers (*see Biscuits and Ham Gravy and Garlic Greenbeans recipes on my blog). Good luck! I hope you end up loving your crockpot. I use mine all the time- it’s all about having good recipes.

  13. Courtney kryder says:

    Hi i’m cooking a ham this sunday its a shank bone in portion and i have a wonderful crockpot but i was curious i’m loving your recipe but was wondering if i did cola with brown sugar and pineapple slices. Do you think it would come out alright?

    • Hi Courtney. Sorry for the delay. I think it would be wonderful. My only caution is that the Coke might make your crockpot spill over with juices. With the ham and brown sugar alone, the juices almost fill the crockpot. I would suggest either just adding the pineapple or watching the juices as you go and possibly draining some out if you need to. Good luck!

      • Courtney kryder says:

        Thanks for responding but i decided to skip the cola after reading your reply and did just brown sugar and pineapple. Let me tell you, your a miracle worker with recipes!! It was wonderful! Thank You enternally for your wonderful recipe! Also i used the leftover juices and mixed them with brown gravy it made a great combo! everyone had three plates and took some for lunch tommorow. I have pictures of how it turned out on my Facebook. I’m spreading the word!

  14. Gigi says:

    I grew up on what we call picnic shoulder hams in the South. I love them and can’t find them in MN, but I’ve got a 3.5# shank ham that I’d like to get as close to my beloved shoulder ham as possible. As I recall, mamma never put sugar in her pot; her ham was never sweet and I really can’t stabs sweet hams in any way. I worry that adding sugar to my pot will make my shank ham sweet, even though it is salt cured, but I don’t know if I should put water in the pot in lieu of sugar or just let it baste itself with its fat. Not really sure how to proceed to get what I’m wanting. Any thoughts for this ole southern daffodil?

    • Hi Gigi… So, the brown sugar suprisingly does not give the ham a sweet flavor. It is most definitely smokey and salty but to really not sweet. If you are totally against the sugar, the ham would cook just fine alone in the crockpot (I would assume). There are so many juices that come from the ham that it will almost fill the pot so no need to add any additional liquids. I can not make any definite promises as I have never cooked one plain. Good luck! Please check back and let me know how it went either way. Thanks for stopping by! 😊

  15. I am sorry for such a silly question, but, what do you do with all the juices that are left? I have so much, but I thought it was mostly fat and did not do anything with it. Then I was thinking more about it and read other replies and at least one person used some to make a gravy. I am a real novice in the kitchen, so I need all the help I can get.

    Also, this was very delicious! I did have some parts that were a bit drier than the rest. Should I have basted it?

    I was thinking of making this for Christmas dinner, but how can I present it so it looks more eye appealing, LOL! Luckily, my family is used to tearing into their foods without a lot of thought to the presentation, ha, ha! But, I am having extended family…what should I do?

    I appreciate your recipe and any advice so much! Thank you and Merry Christmas!

    • Hi Julie!
      As far as the gravy goes, I usually just throw it out because it is a little sweet for my tastes. If you do decide to try a gravy, mix about 1/4 cup corn starch with cold water until the starch thins out. Heat the gravy on the stove over medium-high heat. Slowly add the starch mixture stiring constantly with a wisk until it starts to thicken. Make sure you taste it an see if it needs any additional seasonings.
      As far as serving it goes, I go through the ham and separate out all of the meat from the fat and serve it in a dish.
      As far as dryness, did the ham fall apart easily? If not, it may have not cooked long enough. If it did, next time just try flipping it over with an hour or so to go so the top gets submerged in all of those juices. Hope this helps!

  16. Clint says:

    Good afternoon. Just a quick note about the ham recipe. I was a little nervous – first ham; didn’t quite fit in the crock pot. But your advice about choosing the ham, using foil, etc made it all go smoothly. This ham has been the highlight of Christmas! Thank you for such a great recipe and such thorough directions! Happy holidays!! Clint

  17. candace says:

    This was a great recipe! I made the ham this afternoon and it was a hit! Very easy and delish! More great recipes like this, please!

  18. Rebekah says:

    Thank you so much for this recipe! I made my first crock pot ham for Christmas and it was absolutely delicious! I will never bake one in the oven again, Not only was it tender and juicy, but I didn’t have a big ham crowding up my oven. There was no fussing with basting either. I kept checking to see if I should add liquid, but it had plenty of its own juices to keep it moist. Fantastic!

  19. Eva says:

    The brown sugar won’t stick to the top of the ham…. is that ok??

  20. Carrie G says:

    Super Bowl Sunday 2013! sounds Yummy trying today with the ham i pulled a few days ago from freezer. Butt Ham. I have a Crock-Pot that has never been right Settings are off, keep warm, low, high. Mine cooks everything fast, faster, and fastest. LOL so should be done in time for the game its noon here in Michigan. no liquid???? just the brown sugar? I will be sure to let you know the results. Hmm.. Brown Sugar only? Right?

  21. softballmomquatro says:

    Making this today—I didn’t read through all the comments, but I’m wondering what to do for a side dish & veggie?!?! I have a bunch of red potatoes, and I also have green beans & broccoli, what would be good, do you think?! Can’t wait for dinner–thank you for this recipe/technique!

    • I also have a recipe on my site called “Garlic Greenbeans with Ham.” That is always a great choice for a side (of course, omit the ham this time around, it’s great with or without it). As far as the potatoes go, I love slicing red potatoes and mixing with a packet of Lipton Onion Soup mix and a couple Tbsps of olive oil. You can even throw in some broccoli with the potatoes. I believe you bake at around 400 degrees (the recipe is on the box). Good luck!

  22. pumpkinmoon says:

    do you use any water?

  23. Heather says:

    I am making this for an early Easter party tomorrow and kinda nervous. I got a 9.23 lb ham and wondering how long to cook it on high and low. Trying to see when to put it In!

    • Hi Heather! I would recommend cooking the ham for at least 6 hours on high. The longer you cook it, the more tender it will be. I would recommend giving yourself a little extra cooking time then once it starts getting really tender, turn down the heat to low or warm until the rest of the dinner is ready. Good luck! let me know if you have any more questions. Have a wonderful Easter!

      • Heather says:

        One more sorry! I actually don’t want it to be shredded “fall off the bone” we like it to be sliced ham- what do you recommend on time for that or will I just need to watch it? Also I read above you talked about how the juices almost fill the crockpot- with mine being bigger am I gonna want to drain it after so long just in case of over flowing? Thank you so much for your help! I am so excited! This is my first holiday in my new place, well my first time to have any holiday- instead of going somewhere so it’s a big deal for me! :) thank you again! I’m gonna use the leftovers for a crockpot potato and ham soup I got off pintetest quite awhile back- it was delicious! :)

      • No problem! If you’re just wanting to heat it and not make it super tender, you will just want to get it to 140 degrees (assuming it is a pre-cooked ham. If it is not pre-cooked or even if it is partially cooked, you will need it to to be 160 degrees. I would assume you would need at least 3 hours to get it up to temp. As far as the juices go, just keep
        An eye on it and drain if you need to. I doubt it will need it if you are not cooking it as long. Let me know how it turns out! Thanks Heather!

  24. Rallie says:

    Hi! I want to make this but the ham I have is 17 lb. bone in pre-cooked smoked and it won’t fit in my crockpot. Can I do this in an electric roaster?
    Thanks!!

    • Rallie, ya know, I’m not sure if the roaster would work or not. My first thought would be yes as long as you cook it slow enough but I wonder if it would get the same tenderness without being submerged in all of the juices. I would recommend maybe wrapping it really well in foil after coating it in brown sugar. That might help seal in some of that moisture. Good luck! Please let me know how it goes so other readers will know. Happy Easter!

      • Rallie says:

        Thanks for your reply!!! Any ideas on how to cook this big ham to ensure it is moist and flavorful?
        Any suggestions would be appreciated!!!

      • Rallie says:

        Hello Again!!! I had to come back and tell you how it went with my electric roaster and my 17 lb smoked bone in ham. It took 2 bags of dark brown sugar and I put 1/2 inch of water in the bottom of the roaster with the fat pieces that I trimmed off the ham before putting on the brown sugar. Put the ham on the rack that came with the roaster then wrapped the top of the roasting pan with heavy duty foil REALLY tight…. Did all this before I went to bed @ 12 a.m. Woke up at 6:30 and turned on the roaster to 275, went back to bed until 8:30 and woke to the BEST smell ever in my house!!! Had to check and see if it was doing ok so took out the pan, uncovered it and it looked great checked the temp, it was at 118*, basted it with juices and covered the pan again very tightly and put back in roasting unit. I figured out there was no need to worry about uncovering it to baste it, I wrapped it tight enough that I could just “shake” the roaster and it would baste itself :). Shut the roaster off at 12 p.m. Then tried to take the ham out of the pan but it fell apart!!! Took the whole pan to my mother-in-laws thinking I would bring the leftovers home in it….. Needless to say I brought home an EMPTY pan!!! Everyone LOVED it!!! Can’t believe that it was all gone…. Was really looking forward to trying some of your leftover ham receipies… :(. I am now required to make the ham for all family get-togethers :). Thanks again for your help and the AMAZING receipies!!

      • Rallie thank you so much for coming back to report the results for me as well as anyone else curious about using a roaster. I am so happy that it worked and that you loved the results. Have a wonderful week!

  25. Carol says:

    Late afternoon and I told the family I would make a Ham. I always use the crock pot with the dark brown sugar and you are right it is the fall off the bone best ham ever. How ever the thought came
    To me about using a can of beer in the crock with brown sugar, has any of your followers mention trying something like that? Interested in trying but do not want to waste a good taste that I know already. Just your thought would it make a complete different taste?

    • Hi Carol. I have never tried a can of beer but it sounds delish to me! I would just keep your eye on the amount if liquid in the crock pot since it fills with liquid even without the beer. Good luck and please check back if you try it and let me know how it goes!

  26. Porky says:

    We add A CAN of Vernors Ginger Ale to the ham which is real sweet ginger ale, and never YET used brown sugar but want to try this out. Normally we get the spiral ham and save the cut portion of it, maybe half, for sandwiches, then let the uncut portion cook on low till it falls apart in the crock pot. This time for Easter, we made the uncut part with just pineapple chuncks and juice but now wish I had found this BEFORE making it, not after, for sure brown sugar would have been added to it, or at least molases. Thanks for sharing..

  27. Barbara Lookenott says:

    I have been making my ham in the crock pot for several years now. I don’t put the brown sugar or pinapple in it…just a can of coke. I have always bought the shoulder picnic type because I saw this on a show one time ant it is delicious!! I put it on the night before and let it cook on low all night. I usually put it in my garage because the smell at night is kind of overwhelming. I love how it just falls off the bone, I put leftovers in my scrambled eggs and make ham and scalloped potatoes that are to die for!!! Happy Easter!!

  28. Barbara Lookenott says:

    ps…the carbonation seems to make the ham less salty tasting.

  29. Jacinta says:

    Hi there! I’m hosting a last-minute Easter dinner tomorrow for my family & after buying my 8 lb half shank ham, I found this crock pot recipe…I just tried to fit it into the crock pot & the bottom of the steak doesn’t fit in the bottom of the crock pot :( however, based on the reviews and my love for the crock pot, I am DYING to try this…do you think I could somehow cut the ham prior to heating in the crock pot so it fits? Wondering if this would kinda ruin it :-/

    Either way thank you very much for posting, just reading the reviews made my mouth water!

    • Hi Jacinta! That would absolutely work just fine. It will all end up in chunks anyways since it all falls apart anyways. Make it fit however you can and it will be perfect! Happy Easter! 😊

      • Jacinta says:

        Just what I wanted to hear, YAY! Thank you so much for your quick response! Happy Easter to you as well :)

      • Jacinta says:

        I had to share the feedback…this was SO AMAZING!!! The entire family was raving about it :) this was my first time hosting Easter dinner and making my parents proud was the best feeling in the world. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, I will definitely make this again.

      • YAY!!! I am so excited for you! I agree, that is the best feeling in the world! I think that is why I enjoy cooking so much. Thank you so so much for coming back to leave your exciting feedback. I love it!

  30. Brit says:

    Coming from someone that doesn’t cook… pretty much EVER… this recipe was AMAZING!!! I’ve made attempts at ham in a crock pot before but never with just brown sugar. It was exactly as you described. Not too sweet, juicy, fall off the bone. Delicious! Thank you!

    • Brit, so glad that you liked it! People who don’t cook are the reason I started this blog in the first place. I had several friends who were intimidated by the kitchen and I just wanted to show them that sometimes it’s more about how good the recipe is than how well you can cook. Thanks so much for taking the time to come back and leave your feedback. Feedback is my FAVORITE part of blogging :)

  31. Donna says:

    Hi! I googled crock pot ham and found your site. Thank you for the ham info – I had a shank portion (I had no idea there was a difference between an end or portion). I made your recipe (I used less brown sugar because I misread the recipe – 2 cups instead of 3) and IT WAS AWESOME! Thank you so much for posting this. I can’t wait to check out the rest of your blog. The ham was a HUGE hit at Easter dinner. It was moist and so full of flavor. I can’t believe it didn’t need water or anything other than brown sugar. It was fabulous. Thank you!

    • Donna, I am so happy that you and your family liked it as much as we do. It seems way too good to be true with only 2 ingredients. You just can’t imagine it tasting so amazing. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to come back and give your feedback. I have several recipes for the leftovers on my blog… our favorite is Biscuits and Ham Gravy. We have had it two mornings in a row. It is so full of flavor. Thanks again Donna!

  32. Laurie says:

    WOW!!! I had a free shank half ham from shoprite and have never cooked a ‘non spiral’ ham before. This was so easy. I have never tasted a ham this good before. Not too sweet at all. I was worried because I couldn’t put the lid on because it was so big so I had to use foil. No issue at all. Juices filled to the top of the crock pot. Best leftovers also. Still juicy not dry at all. My family was eating it cold right from the fridge. I will never cook a ham in the oven again. Making lentil soup with the bone now. Not one scrap of leftover now. I was so inspired I am slow cooking my free shoprite turkey in the oven right now. I’ve heard great things about slow cooking turkeys also. Thanks for the recipe!!!

    • Laurie, I am so happy to hear that you and your family loved it. I can never get enough of hearing about other people’s success in the kitchen. Makes me glow. I too had to cover my 11 pounder with foil this year and it was perfect…. and we are doing a split pea and ham today for dinner and have had two mornings of biscuits and ham gravy for breakfast and ham sammies for lunch. I have never tried Ham and Lentil soup. Let me know how it turns out! Thank you so much for taking the time to get back on my blog and tell me about your success!!! Have a wonderful day!

  33. Paulette says:

    Yummy and so juicy, will definitely be making again

  34. Phillip says:

    Followed your crock pot ham recipe to the letter using a Toupie style ham ( boneless). Not quite the success I had hoped. While definitely not a crock pot amateur; e.g. beef borguignon, beef stew, chicken dishes etc. , the wished for fall apart ham has not been realized.

    • Hi Phillip. Bummed that you didn’t have great success with your ham. I have never tried that type of ham before and don’t know if it contributed to your not so tender ham or if maybe the cooking time changed. Generally if you haven’t cooked it long enough, it will not shred. You will have to try again sometime with a bone-in and see if you have different results.

  35. Clare says:

    My husband managed to find a small cured ham shank yesterday for 55p (85 cents!) in the ‘near use by’ section in the supermarket. I had no idea how to cook ham: my mum cooked until I went to uni and then I’ve been vegetarian for most of the time since (back eating meat again now though). This recipe looks so great, I just need to try not to look at the slow cooker constantly while I wait!

  36. Amanda says:

    sliiy question but do you add water or anything to the slow cooker or just the brown sugar and juices from the ham cook it?

  37. Nyree says:

    Hi, I have an 8lb smoked pork shoulder and I’m looking forward to trying your recipe. I was wondering if I could substitute some of the brown sugar with some of the peach preserves I made last weekend? Do you think that would taste ok?

    • Hi Nyree! I think the peach preserves would be wonderful! It will give your ham a bit of a fruitier sweetness (obviously what you are probably going for). I wish I could come over and try a bite :) Good luck! And if you get a chance to check back and let us know how it turned out, I would love it!

      Thanks!

      • Nyree says:

        I used the peach preserves and about 1 cup of the brown sugar. It turned out great! The peach preserves are more like a chutney, as I put heaps of ginger in it. The peach and ginger went great with the ham! It was an 8lb ham cooked on low for 8+ hours. It was very tasty and moist, but didn’t fall off the bone. If I make this again, I’ll cook it on high.

        Thanks!

      • Nyree, Oh my goodness, my mouth is watering now. That sounds so delicious with the peach and ginger. Thank you so so so much for taking the time to give us your version and results. I have had bigger hams that seemed to need more cooking time than others but if you cook it long enough, it should fall off the bone so I think your right on about cooking it on high next time. Thank you again!

  38. Kristie says:

    You may have answered but I didn’t see it on the post anywhere.
    Do you do anything with the leftover marinade in the crockpot, can you even use it as a type of dressing?
    I never cook and made this tonight and it is awesome and easy, just not sure if I am supposed to throw out the marinade or re use it…
    Thank you!

    • Hi Kristie! I usually throw it out. I had one person say they made a gravy out of it but I’d imagine it would be pretty sweet. Let me know if you end up trying anything :)

      • Kristie says:

        Thank you for this wonderful recipe. If you follow your directions ( including the type of ham) it comes out perfect.
        I am a full time working mom and this made our evening go smooth as dinner was pretty much ready as soon as we walked in the door.
        My husband used some of the juice to make an excellent gravy.
        He started with a small amount in the skillet and added flour until it was “browned” then added milk until he got the desired consistency and taste.
        It is more of a “sweet” gravy versus others but went nicely with the mash potatoes and biskets..
        I look forward to looking through and trying some of your other recipes..

      • Kristie, Thank you so so much for taking the time to report back. I am anxious to try a gravy next time. I’ve just always thought it would be too sweet. I’m so glad you enjoyed the ham. I have a few recipes on my blog for leftovers (like breakfast burritos, biscuits and ham gravy and garlic green beans with ham) if you are interested :) Thanks Kristie!

  39. Heather says:

    Do I need to put any water into the crock pot? If not, won’t it burn from being dry?

    • Hi Heather! I know it seems so crazy but you only add the brown sugar. As soon as it starts warming up, the juices from the ham will start seeping into the brown sugar and before its done the liquid will literally fill the crock pot. So, no added liquid :) Good luck!

  40. Deb says:

    I don’t have a crockpot and am wondering if you can simulate this in an oven with a roaster. Would you have any idea if that’s possible and the time frame/temp I would use?

    • Hi Deb! I have never tried the ham in the oven but I would imagine you could use covered roaster or dutch oven with success. The key would be making sure it is tightly covered and cooked slowly. You may need to add some foil under the lid to ensure a good seal.
      As far as temperatures go, I believe the “LOW” setting on a crock pot is approximately 200 degrees F. and “HIGH” is around 300 degrees F. You can follow the cooking times from the recipe accordingly. If you end up trying it, I would LOVE to hear how it went so other people who don’t own crock pots will have some tried and true direction. Thanks so much Deb! I really hope it works out for you!

  41. Deb says:

    Thank you for your quick response! I will be trying the recipe tomorrow. I have a fully cooked, bone in, almost 7lb butt ham I’m using. I imagine the smaller the roaster diameter and taller the height the better in hopes the juices would cover a good portion of the ham like it would in a crock pot?? I will follow your recipe exactly and won’t add any liquid. The picture of your cooked ham is exactly the result I’ve been searching for. Thank you for the temperature comparisons that will really help-I’ll try it at 200F and let you know my results.

    • Yes, you are absolutely correct! Good luck!

      • Deb says:

        The 6 & 3/4 lb fully cooked butt ham is done and exactly as described in recipe. I placed the ham in a small enamel stock pot…leaving only about 1.5 inches between pot and ham. I foiled the top and put the lid on. I added the 3 cups of brown sugar, threw in whole cloves and baked at 250 F for 6 hours. It’s perfect, moist/tender/great smoked flavour! Thank you again for your help…now it’s time to enjoy it. I highly recommend this recipe to all.

      • That’s great news!!! So glad it worked and I can’t thank you enough for reporting back!!

    • Theresa says:

      Thank you for asking this question! My ham this year is too big for the crockpot *guessing it to be around 12#. So I was hoping to bake it in the oven. Thanks for doing it and reporting back! Godo to know it will work! :)

  42. Mandy says:

    I have a 4.5 # ham how long should I cook the ham for?

    • Hi Mandy! It really depends on whether or not you cook it on high or low. On high, I would say around 5-6 hours, since it is somewhat smaller. On low, I would say 7-8 hours. Always plan on the longer of the two times and if it gets done ahead of time, you can just keep it on warm until the rest of your dinner is ready. Sometimes crockpots vary a little in temperature too so keep an eye on it (if you can… I know some people leave it on all day while at work) and adjust the time/temp accordingly. If it is not falling apart, it has not cooked long enough. Good luck! Hope your family loves it!

  43. Karen says:

    I have a frozen smoked shank that I want to thaw and cook for company, in a few days…hoping to have leftovers for ham sandwiches for more company the next day. I’m salivating, reading the comments! I’ve been cooking for decades, and never thought to cook a ham in a crockpot. Also, was hoping for the ham to be in tact when I took it out of the crockpot, but now I don’t care! Thanks to everyone who gave their tips/comments!

  44. Danielle says:

    Very excited to try this receipe! Do I need to add water or any liquids at the beginning of cooking or just the brown sugar and ham?

  45. Dotti says:

    Can you tell me what size crockpot to use and what size ham to buy to serve 9-10 people?

    • Hi Dotti. Is the ham the main dish or will there be a turkey too? I would count on 1/3 -1/2 of a pound per person. There is a lot of weight lost as the juice separates from the ham. You will never be disappointed if you have too much ham because it makes amazing leftovers. You just want to be sure it fits in your crock-pot. Feel free to cut some of the ham up to make it fit if you happen to get a bigger one. Just try to make sure it is as short as possible because you can’t really shorten the bone. I use a 6 qt crock-pot. If you find that your ham is too big for your crock-pot, you can always use a roaster oven or your oven with a stockpot or dutch oven (something heavy with a heavy lid). You would bake it at 250 for 6-8 hours. One viewer commented that she used a stockpot and placed foil on top before the lid to really lock in the steam and moisture. Good luck!

      • Dotti says:

        I found a 7 qt. crockpot and did an almost 7 lb. smoked bone-in ham from the local butcher shop. It came out great! I pulled it off the bone and took it to my family’s holiday gathering the next day, with just a re-warming. Thanks–I will definitely be making this again.

      • Thank you Dotti for taking time give us feedback. I am so glad it turned out with the smoked ham. Have a wonderful Christmas!

  46. Wikl a smoked ham work? All of them at the grocery store were smoked!

    • I have to apologize, I have never bought a pre-smoked ham. We have smoked then ourselves but have only bought the cured hames. If the package calls for cooking the smoked ham just as a regularly cured ham would, then I would say the crockpot method would work perfectly. I really wish I could be of more help on this subject but I have no experience with it. If you end up using the crockpot method, would you mind coming back and commenting and letting us know how it turned out. I am so curious.

  47. Connie says:

    I can’t wait to try this recipe. I will be putting a 13 pound half ham in the crock pot tomorrow night for Thanksgiving day. I have a 21 pound turkey to go in the oven, so I am really glad I found your crock pot recipe! Question, would you follow the same procedure for a half ham? I am not sure what portion my ham comes from as it does not say on the package. It is a pretty nice half ham from Smtihfield. I plan to add pineapple rings and cherries to the top because that’s how our family cooks it in the oven. Any suggestions?

    • Hi Connie! I’m not sure what you mean by a “half ham” but you should be able to do any size of ham as long as it will fit in your crockpot. Have you tested to see if it will fit in your crockpot? That’s a pretty large ham. If you need to, you can always use a good layering of foil in place of the lid. Also, you can trim the ham to make it fit down in the crockpot. It will all cook the same. If you have a very large ham, you will be on the longer range of cooking time. The cherries and pineapple will be a wonderful addition. That makes my mouth water :) Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and good luck with your ham. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

      • Therese Z says:

        Doing this tomorrow for Thanksgiving. I have an uncured ham, so I am going to add some salt to the sugar. The liquid will probably end up too sweet and too salty but I don’t have any plans for it, so it should be okay.

        good luck to everyone!

      • Hi Therese. I have never used an uncured ham. I really hope it turns out for you. If you wouldn’t mind checking back to let others know how it turns out for everyone’s future reference, that would be wonderful. Good luck and have a blessed Thanksgiving!

  48. CWE says:

    I have never taken the time to post on a blog so that should give you an idea of how motivated I am about this feedback. I followed the recipe to a t and against my moms advice ….nervously I stood my ground because the pictures of the ham here looked so good! I have to say that not only was this a simple recipe, it was so so good!! It was the hit of our thanksgiving meal!! I am not a fan of sweet food so I was a bit nervous about this but went for it and so glad I did. Thanks so much for the inspiration!!

  49. sue says:

    My Thanksgiving ham was a huge hit!!! It is almost gone, not even 24 hours later. It makes the best ham biscuits. I’ve already had request that this must be cooked on Christmas day. I cook breakfast for my family and my parents on Christmas morning. We will definitely be having ham biscuits, and this will cut down loads of work. Now, I won’t be stuck in the kitchen on Christmas morning! Thanks so much!!!! I think this will be our new tradition!!! BTW, I used a Smithfield shank ham and light brown sugar.

  50. alisha says:

    IS This A Sweet Flavored HOney Bake Ham?

    • Hi Alisha. This isn’t a honey baked ham but it does have a touch of sweetness to it once it is cooked. It seems as though it would be very sweet with all the brown sugar but somehow it is not. It is much more savory than sweet. Thanks so much for the question!

  51. Jeanean says:

    Made this today. It was delicious. Do you have any suggestions for the left overs? I thought I might make split pea and ham soup, but I’m not sure if this is too sweet for that. Thanks!

    • Hi Jeanean! I’m so glad you liked the ham. I have a few leftover ideas on my blog (garlic green beans and ham and biscuits and ham gravy). The ham is great in split pea or any kind of soup, however my very favorite thing to do with it is chop it up and put in a Freezer bag and freeze it. This will allow you to put it in omelets, breakfast burritos, breakfast sandwiches, potato side dishes, soups, etc. When you get it out of the freezer for the first time, hit it on your countertop. This will separate the ham into the chopped pieces and you can just get handfuls out whenever you need them. Good luck! Let me know if you have any specific questions about leftover recipes :)

  52. Briana says:

    Holy amazing! I can’t get over how delicious this turned out! Vons had ham on sale today and this was the easiest recipe I found so I tried it and it will definitely be added into our regular rotation! Thank you!

  53. blogenfreude1 says:

    Bone-in fresn hams look to be about 10-15 pounds, boneless are about 7-8 – will this recipe work w/ boneless? Two people eating plus a Manhattan-sized refrigerator mean we can’t buy huge.

    • Hello! I have personally never tried a boneless ham but as long as you are cooking a fresh ham and not one of the small processed ones you can cut into lunch meat, I would imagine boneless would be just fine. If you try it, would you mind checking back and letting me and all the other readers know how it worked for you! Thanks so much! Good luck and have a wonderful Christmas!

  54. Constance says:

    Hello. This will be my first time doing a ham in the crock. I need something that I can start when I leave for work at 6:30am and be ready for dinner around 8pm that night since we are hosting a Christmas dinner on short notice. I’m feeding 11 people so I’m thinking a 7lb ham. My daughter gets home around 3pm, my husband will be home around 4pm and I will be home around 5pm that night. How long should it cook for and should I put it on low or high when I leave in the morning? Thank you for your response! Looking forward to trying your recipe on Friday. :)

    • Hello Constance! Ok here is my advice… For 11 people, I would get as big a ham as will fit into your crockpot. Keep in mind that the bone, fat and juices all come out of the ham are not included in the serving weight. If you need to cover it with foil, use several layers and get it tight. I have done this several times and it works just fine. Definitely cook the ham on low. The first person to get home should probably turn the crockpot to warm because it will most likely be done at that point. To keep the ham from drying out, turn it over after you turn it down to warm so the top gets to soak in those yummy juices. Have whoever is home, continue to check the ham every 30-45 minutes. By the time you are ready to eat it, it will definitely be falling apart (which is the point) :) Best of luck to you. I hope you and your guests love it as much as my family does. Let me know if you have further questions. Merry Christmas!

  55. Adrian N. says:

    We received a boneless “dinner ham” from the boss for xmas. Would that work ok?

  56. Shelly says:

    So you do not need to add any water??

  57. OK – 9 lb bone in in the oven, barely could cover w/ the Le Creuset lid so I used foil as well. Slight alterations to the recipe bowing to a chef friend of mine – layer of oranges in the bottom and a splash of apple juice on each side.

  58. Samantha0825 says:

    Quick question, only the brown sugar goes in the crock pot with the ham? No type of liquid of any type

    • Hi Samantha. Yes, you’re correct. That is the most common question I get because it just seems strange to not add liquid. All the juice comes out of the ham and then the ham just soaks in it all day. Brown sugar and ham only. Good luck! Have a Merry Christmas!!!

  59. Lissa says:

    I am happy to say that I finally got the crock pot I have been wanting for Christmas this year. I have a wonderful small one and a wonderful roasting oven, but not one for ham, chicken and other family sized meal needs. I also skipped making our family ham this Christmas because our family food celebration was Christmas Eve at my sisters house, so there was no reason to make a second large dinner for just my husband, my two small children and myself. We were sleepy and had plenty of turkey leftovers. So, today, I am THRILLED to have found your recipe. This will be the first thing prepared in my brand new lovely crock pot gift.

  60. Art Nelson says:

    I’m a foodie but was a little hesitant to experiment on a 9 lb. ham on Xmas day. The night before, we set our huge bone-in ham in my slow cooker. Brown sugar, Ham, Pineapple tidbits. About 9 hours later, a heavenly transformation took place. I couldn’t even get it out of the slow cooker without it ripping into chunks. The bone sat there in the cooker, lonely and defeated. I cut up the ham into chunks and made my mom’s world-class chutney and everyone marveled at the texture and flavor.

    I forgot to remove the stupid plastic bone covering, even after reading that specific step several times. Don’t forget to take this out!

    In short, thank you. Best ham I ever tasted due to the juicy, succulent texture. Bonus: Easy and hands free.

  61. Rick says:

    I tried this recipe with a 10lb bone in smoked ham. I cooked it on high in my crock pot for 6 hours. It was falling off the bone tender and I loved the texture of the meat. However, the taste was slightly “off” in some way and it was way too salty. I was so disappointed. All I put in the crockpot was the ham and the brown sugar, although I believe I used closer to two cups rather than three. I couldn’t figure out where all the salt came from as I don’t believe smoking adds salt. Any ideas what went wrong, I would like to make this recipe work as I love good ham. Thanks.

    • Rick, what a bummer! The only thing I can think of is that the ham was too salty before it was even cooked. I have made this probably close to 50 times and have never had the saltiness issue. I love salt so if you are sensitive to saltiness we might just have a difference in opinion, however I doubt that is the case. I would maybe try a small ham next time (maybe a different brand) just in case. Good luck!

      • Rick says:

        I finally got a few spare minutes and wanted to follow-up and let you know that I have made this ham twice since my first attempt and they both came out wonderful! The hams were a little smaller, about 8 lbs and I cooked them on low rather than high. I think my first ham may have just been saltier for some unknown reason. So, anyway just wanted you to know I got this recipe back on track and it is great. My family loves it.

        BTW, I love your blog and the simplicity of your recipes. It is so great for the everyday cooking that we must do and don’t have time for recipes that call for 25 different ingredients and huge prep. Thanks sooo much!

      • Hi Rick. I am so glad that you were able to have success with this recipe and that you are enjoying the blog. Simplicity is definitely important with all of our lives becoming increasingly busy. Thank you so very much for taking the time to check back and let me know about your ham success. Have a wonderful day!

  62. […] googled crock pot ham. I came across a blog post with rave reviews.  (you can find that blog post here.) So, I tried it! It was […]

  63. Wendy B says:

    as soon as I saw your picture of the ham I knew this had to be good :) I’m hoping you can help me with a quick question… I’ve picked up 3 bone-in hams (aprox. 6-8 lb. each) as they all looked so good (lol) and I’m going to be serving 15-20 friends/family this coming Saturday for Easter. I only have 1 crockpot and will plan on cooking 1 ham per day. Any suggestions on how to heat up the already cooked ham on Saturday? (maybe crock pot again with some of the juices from cooking) and if you think it would dry out quickly? Thanks… I can hardly wait to make them :)

    • Oh my goodness! How exciting. I would reserve some of the juices like you said, then if your oven is free, place all of the ham in a large roaster pan in the oven with the juices and cover it tightly with foil. If your oven is tied up, the crock pot would also work but would just take much longer and you might not be able to fit it all. I would also take the time after each one is cooked to pick all of the good stuff out and throw away the fat and bones. This way you preserve that valuable refrigerator space since it sounds like you will be preparing in large quantities. Please feel free to ask questions along the way if you have any. The messages ping through on my email so I can usually get to them fairly quickly. What else are you making for the big feast? Good luck!

  64. Denise says:

    Hi, I am doing a ham for the first time. I have a 6 lb semi boneless smoked ham. Here is my dilemma. I have two crockpot sizes. I can probably fit the ham in the smaller one if I trim a little off one side and wrap cover in foil or I can put it in the larger but there will be plenty of space on either side. Which crock pot should I use? Thanks and can’t wait to try this out on Sunday!

    • Hi Denise. I would definitely use the bigger of the two. Being overly big will not be too big of a deal. I would just turn the ham an hour before you take it out so the top can sit in those juices. You might end up weigh an overflow problem if you use the smaller pot since there is so much juice that comes out of the ham. Hope that helps. Good luck and Happy Easter!

  65. Tarci Raycraft says:

    what if it says it is a semi boneless SMOKED ham, do you cook it the same way

  66. Lindsay says:

    I would just like to start off by saying I have made this ham twice, and it is literally THE BEST HAM I’ve ever eaten! My husband and I just can’t get enough of it!! I am making it today for Easter, and my mom is making her baked ham in the oven, and we’re going to have a ham cook-off!
    I do have one question..the previous times I have used the light brown sugar, like your recipe calls for. I unfortunately forgot to pick it up at the store, but I have dark brown sugar. Do you think it will make a huge difference if I use dark brown sugar, or have you ever used dark brown sugar? Thanks again for this recipe!!

    • Hi Lindsay! First of all It makes me so so happy that you have had such great success with this recipe. As far as the sugar goes, dark brown sugar will work. It will just have a touch more of a molasses taste. You don’t really even taste the brown sugar when you are eating the actual ham so I don’t imagine it making a big difference. Who knows, maybe you will find you like it better than the light brown. Do me a favor and check back and let me know how it was with the dark brown. Good luck in the cook off! Have a wonderful Easter!

  67. Karoline says:

    Made this for our family Easter brunch. It was amazing! Everyone loved it. Thanks for this great easy recipe.

  68. Samella says:

    Tasty but so DRY!

    • Oh no! Sorry your ham turned out dry. I have never experienced that before. Just curious what kind of ham you used and how long did it cook? I have discovered that the spiral ham does not stay as moist as the uncut hams. Bummer! Maybe sometime when hams are on sale, you will have to give it another try and see if you get a better end product without the pressure of it being a holiday meal centerpiece.

  69. Jodette says:

    I made this ham for Easter and the bone fell out onto the floor when my father pulled it out of the crock pot. Making it again today……it is the best melt in your mouth ham I have ever made! I always thought Honey Baked Ham Co. made the best, but not anymore!

  70. Tomorrow is my first day off in 14 days, and i have been thinking of how good this is going to taste:) I am so looking forward to cooking my ham this way again(i did it this way for christmas dinner, was a huge hit!:))-what i like about this recipe is that you dont have to bother carving the ham up. I’m a single guy, so i like that i can portion some out and freeze it for salad toppings, sandwiches, etc. Thanks again for posting this great recipe!

    • Hi Mike! Love love love hearing these wonderful comments. This ham recipe has been such a huge hit for anyone I have ever cooked it for but sometimes I really wish I could just freeze the whole thing because the leftover options are so amazing. I don’t know if you saw my Biscuits and Ham Gravy recipe but it has become a HUGE hit in my extended family (especially with my teenage nephews). I have literally made an entire ham solely for a monster batch of biscuits and gravy. I have a hard time eating it with sausage now because the ham makes it 10x better and you don’t have to worry about getting little chunks of bone or gristle.. yuck! Anyways, thanks so much for taking the time out of your day to leave a comment. Hope you enjoy your 14 days off :)

Leave a Reply

