Beer Bread – Super Fast, Easy and DELISH!

My dear friend Amber introduced me to beer bread a few years back and it has since become my very favorite kind of bread.  It is so super easy.  Literally, your bread will be ready for the oven before your oven has even finished preheating.  This bread accompanies chilli, soups, salads, really anything because it is so versitile.  Let’s get started…

Ingredients:

3 cups self-rising flour (or 3 cups all-purpose flour, 3 tsp baking powder and 1 and 1/2 tsp salt). 

I know very few people who keep self-rising flour on hand.  Do not run out to buy some because you can very easily make it yourself.  For every cup of flour in a recipe, add one teaspoon of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Voila…That’s it!

1/3 c. sugar

1 – 12oz can or bottle of  beer.  I have tried several kinds of beer and it seems like the regular, light beers produce the best flavor (for my liking).  I do not like the taste of beer, especially microbrews so if that’s your thing, you may enjoy adding a fancier beer.  If you do add a microbrew, your bread will have that bitter flavor that the beer possesses.

Directions:

Whisk all dry ingredients together. 

Add beer.  It will be really foamy. Mix with a rubber spatula or a whisk.  Do not overmix or it will become tough. Once the beer is mixed in evenly, stop.  You want it to be a little lumpy.

Pour batter into greased bread pan. 

 

I think, hands down, that the old thin aluminum pans are  far superior to any non-stick fancy schmancy bread pan or cookie sheet. You can often find them at yard sales for $.10 each.  They produce such a nice, evenly browned crust.

Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

Spread a layer of butter or margarine (you decide how thick) over the top.  You can also melt it and spread it with a pastry brush if you have one. 

Place back in over for an additional 10 minutes.

Pull out of oven and transfer to a cooling rack.  This bread is best served warm but is still excellent leftover if you store it in a Ziploc and zap it in the microwave for a few seconds before smothering in butter. I prefer my bread topped with honey butter.

Variations:

For a savory bread, decrease sugar to 3 Tbsp and add cheese and garlic, garlic salt or roasted garlic cloves to batter.  You could add jalapeno and cheddar cheese to the batter or italian herbs and parmesan.

For a sweeter bread, alternate spoonfuls of batter into pan with cinnamon and sugar mixture.  Top with cinnamon and sugar before baking.

12 comments on “Beer Bread – Super Fast, Easy and DELISH!

  1. Andrea says:

    Soooo good and amazingly easy! Two thumbs up!!! Definitely use honey butter!

  2. Fe says:

    This is amazing! I stumbled upon your recipe today and decided to try it right away. So between dishes, laundry and cleaning, I had time to make some delicious bread before my husband came home from work. He loves it! We both do. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

    • I replied to your comment after you first posted it and just realized that for some reason it didn’t post. Sorry about that. I am so glad you liked the beer bread. It is definitely a staple in our house for those days when kneading and rising and waiting don’t really appeal to me (which is more often than not). Have a great day!

  3. Arianne says:

    Great website Alissa! I can’t wait to see what all you post! Love, Arianne

  4. Andrea says:

    I can’t wait to try this!! I’ll have to send Joe to the store to get the beer, since he mentioned recently that he thinks it’d be fun to go buy alcohol. He’s a cheap date. 🙂

  5. Mom says:

    You have really outdone yourself with your new blog. Even I am excited to whip up your creations after reading your blog. I am so excited to try the beer bread. Maybe I too can be successful if I follow your precise instructions. You have done a superb job on the directions. You can feel the energy especially as I reflect on how much you love to create, bake, cook and create in the kitchen. A job well done. It will be fun to watch your blog grow. So proud of you.

  6. Jennifer Adams says:

    I can’t believe I have never gotten this recipe from you before, nor have I ever had the pleasure of eating it with you. I’m excited to try this (probably will make it this week sometime) with dinner. And dangit, I’m goingto have to try the cinnamon and sugar one too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

