Pumpkin Pillows with Salted Caramel Frosting

I have made several variations of this cookie over the years but I think this is my favorite. Before tasting salted caramel, I was not crazy about the idea, but after I did, I understood what this whole Salted Caramel craze was about.  This cookies are so light and “pillowy” (for a lack of a better word).  The frosting is rich and buttery and those little granules of salt on top break the sweetness slightly and just make the taste peak with perfection.   This is a family favorite of ours and will soon be a favorite in  your family I’m sure.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 cup butter or margarine, softened

1 can canned pumpkin (or 2 cups fresh puree)

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

Caramel Frosting

3 Tbsp margarine or butter

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/4 cup milk

1 1/2 to 2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 tsp kosher or course sea salt for sprinkling

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees F.  In large bowl, beat sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 cup butter until light and fluffy.  Add pumpkin, vanilla and egg; blend well.

Add flour baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt; mix well.  Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto un-greased cookie sheets.  (I prefer my medium sized-cookie scoop).

Bake at 350 F. for 10-12 minutes or until light golden brown around edges. I usually touch the top off one of the cookies very lightly to be sure it is firm enough not to leave an indentation. Immediately remove from cookie sheets.  Cool completely.

While cookies are baking, prepare frosting.  In medium saucepan, melt 3 tablespoons margarine then add 1/2 cup brown sugar.  Bring to a boil.   Cook over medium heat 1 minute or until slightly thickened, stirring constantly.

Cool 10 minutes.  At this point, it will appear like brown sugar with butter melted into it, only a little darker.  It will not be smooth.  Add milk; beat until smooth (It takes a few minutes to get the brown sugar lumps out).  Beat in enough powdered sugar for a good spreading consistency.

Frost cooled cookies then sprinkle very lightly with kosher or sea salt.  Let stand until frosting is set.

5 comments on “Pumpkin Pillows with Salted Caramel Frosting

  1. Charlene Oman says:

    Hi Alissa, This is Charlene, Darcy’s mom and I worked a couple days at the school last week and heard rave reviews over Tricia’s Salted Carmel Pumpkin Cookies, so when I asked her for the recipe she gave me your blogspot. Love your blogs and I have a batch in the oven right now! Miss your family at church.

    • Charlene! How are you? What a pleasant suprise to see your name on my blog 🙂 I am so glad you enjoyed looking theough my blog. I absolutely love sharing all of my recipes. I just wish I had time to do more. I hope you love your cookies! Thanks for stopping by and especially for taking the time to leave me a note. It always makes my day to hear feedback. Take care!!

  2. Tricia says:

    Thanks, I definitely will! Excited to try these, they look so scrumptious!

  3. Tricia B. says:

    Hi Alissa!! Sounds like you and your family are doing well! I love your blog! These cookies sound super good and I plan on making them for a party next weekend. For the canned pumpkin, is it a small can or a large can? Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

