Pumpkin Week! Pumpkin Bread Perfection

Your search for the perfect pumpkin bread recipe is over! This is the epitome of sweet bread perfection.  It is really moist and dense and has a delicious crusty cinnamon-sugar topping….mmmm. I can never wait until fall for my first batch of pumpkin bread.  I usually make some for the neighbors too because it’s just too good not to make a loaf for everyone.

Ingredients:

3 cups all-purpose flour (or substitute with whole wheat)

2 cups white sugar

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 cups pumpkin puree

2/3 cup vegetable oil

3 eggs, beaten

1 tsp vanilla

Topping

1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Mix all dry ingredients together.  I recommend either sifting them or using a whisk to mix them, there are so many spices and additions to the flour that it is a good idea to get it mixed really well.

Add pumpkin, vanilla, vegetable oil, and eggs.  Mix until no streaks of flour are visible. Confession time… I got completely distracted while making this batch (doesn’t take much) and l forgot to put the oil in!  Seriously, who does that? It’s the oil! The bread STILL came out fabulous! It was not quite as moist as usual but I was shocked at how little difference the oil actually made in this recipe.  As a result, your batter will appear a bit thinner than mine in the above pic, unless of course you decide to leave it out too. 🙂

Pour into two greased bread pans (8″).  Sprinkle cinnamon and sugar topping over each loaf. Bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes or until the top no longer appears wet and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.  Cool on for 10 minutes before removing from pan.  Cool on wire rack until you just can’t stand it anymore and you have to bust into one.

This recipe has been featured on the following awesome blogs.  Stop by and check them out!

justimagine-ddoc.com/food-and-drink/fall-inspiration-pumpkin-recipes/gallery/image/pumpkin-bread-perfection/

http://ladyslittleloves.com/2013/09/pumpkin-streusel-bread-muffins.html

10 comments on “Pumpkin Week! Pumpkin Bread Perfection

  1. Diana says:

    Thank you for the amazing recipe! My husband and kids loved it! I gave the second loaf to my brother in law who also loved it and ended up having to make more for my house! We all loved the cinnamon and sugar on top.

  2. Wil says:

    2 cans pumpkin? I am assuming its the small cans?

  3. […] found a basic pumpkin bread recipe from this site and combined it with this recipe for the streusel topping. Below are my slight alterations to […]

  4. hrygth says:

    I just made this- they’re in the oven! The kitchen smells amazing! Thanks for posting.

  5. Lee Ann says:

    Yummy! That is so funny because as I was reading the ingredients I was thinking, “wow. this looks just like my mom’s recipe.” But then I got to the pictures and thought, “I guess it’s a little different because her batter is thinner.”

    Even pumpkin bread turns out great with gluten free flour because it’s so moist – which means I get to enjoy it too! Yummo!

    By the way, the salami appies were awesome! Thanks for ALL of your guidance 🙂

    • haha! I thought about not even admitting that I had left it out but then I worried about people doubting themselves because the batter looked thinner than mine. I actually didn’t even notice until I was typing out the recipe. That’s how little of a difference it made. It always takes exactly 50 minutes in my oven but this time tasted like it had baked just a few minutes too long. Duh! No oil!

  6. Jaime Reyes says:

    yum, can’t wait to try it! Thanks.

    Date: Mon, 15 Oct 2012 22:11:36 +0000 To: jaybee1980@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

