Heavenly Baked Coconut Chicken

Do you like coconut shrimp? I am semi-obsessed with it, not because of the shrimp, but because of what is on the outside of the shrimp.  This recipe was passed on to me by a friend of mine.  I made it the very next day.  Let me tell you…it was every bit as good as the best coconut shrimp I’ve had, but the wonderful thing was, it was baked and had no added fat.  It was crispy, and well… just plain wonderful.  Thanks for the recipe Jessica! You have made my world a happier place 🙂

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

4 cups corn flakes

2 cups coconut

1 and 1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

2 eggs, beaten

2 Tbsp milk

Dipping sauce of your choice… I used honey mustard and a sweet chili sauce (recipe coming soon)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375.  Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.  In a resealable bag, crush corn flakes (rolling pins work great).  Add coconut, ginger, salt and pepper. Shake until well mixed.  In a shallow bowl, mix eggs and milk.

Rinse, trim and pat chicken dry with a paper towel.  Slice in  1/2 inch thick pieces at a 45 degree angle.  Dip chicken pieces in egg.  Let egg drip off then individually press chicken pieces into coconut mixture until well coated.  Place on prepared baking sheet and bake for 12-14 minutes.  Turn chicken pieces over and turn your oven to broil.  Broil until bottom side (now top side) is golden and crispy.

Serve with your favorite dipping sauce or atop a salad.  A-MA-ZING!!!!!

11 comments on “Heavenly Baked Coconut Chicken

  1. K says:

    Please inform where the dipping sauce recipe is.

  2. Trace says:

    What kind of coconut do you use? Sweetened or unsweetened?

  3. Jaime says:

    I made this and loved it! I substituted Rice Krispies because I didn’t have corn flakes, but still super yummy 🙂

    • Nice work! I bet the Rice Krispies were good! Love this recipe, especially if I am looking for something a little different than the every day monotonous meals. Thanks you for trying my recipes and especially for commenting on them. Makes me happy ❤

  4. Definitely, what a great website and instructive posts, I surely will bookmark your site.Have an awsome day!

  5. Darcy O. says:

    This truely is heavenly! It is a must have!!!!! I am going to be on a mission to recreate the Red Lobster dipping sauce as it is my favorite 🙂 Thanks for sharing, delicious!

    • I am so glad you liked them as much as I did. I don’t know that I remember Red Lobster’s dipping sauce. Is it a creamy sauce? If you figure it out, do share because it sounds like I need to try it.

      • Darcy O. says:

        Well, I haven’t had it in awhile….and since I too have a similar memory problem that you have, I just might have to indulge at Red Lobster again before I recreate! Yes, it is creamy, white, sweet and I know it has coconut in it too.

Leave a Reply

