COOKIE WEEK!!! – Soft Peanut Butter Cookies

I am so excited for this week!  I will be posting a delicious cookie recipe EVERY DAY!  I am a huge cookie fanatic so I think I will have to eat lettuce all week to account for the number of calories I am going to ingest in the next 7 days. I am going to make my husband take all of the cookies we don’t eat the day they are baked to work the following day because I can not resist them.  Just don’t look too closely in my cupboards or you might find a secret stash :).

Our first recipe is the “Mac Daddy” of all peanut butter cookie recipes.  I discovered it several years ago from allrecipes.com, (a recipe from Cindy Duvall).  These pb cookies are so soft with a little bit of crunchy just around the edges. My family of four literally ate the whole first dozen before the second dozen even came out of the oven (I won’t tell you how many of those went in my mouth). Ok, let’s get to baking.

Ingredients:

1 cup margarine, softened

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 large eggs (always make sure you use large eggs when baking.  If you happen to get extra-large or jumbo, your cookies will turn out flat.)

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 and 1/2 cups flour

1 and 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup white sugar (for rolling cookie dough balls in)

Directions:

Beat margarine for a few seconds to get it creamy before adding peanut butter.  Mix in peanut butter, vanilla and sugars.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well between each.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.  Add slowly to peanut butter mixture until combined.  Chill dough for 15 minutes in the refrigerator.  Roll into balls (I use my cookie scoop for this then give them a little roll by hand to smooth them out.)

Roll in sugar then place on cookie sheet.

Bake at 350 degrees for 7-10 minutes until edges BARELY start browning.  Your cookies will seem undercooked but just like most other cookie recipes, this will ensure that your cookies are nice and soft.  Let cookies stand for 2-3 minutes before placing on a cooling rack.  Place in an airtight container once cooled completely to keep those babies nice and soft.

 

2 comments on “COOKIE WEEK!!! – Soft Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Abby says:

    Mmm! A quick recipe and what delicious results! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Miz Helen says:

    How can you go wrong with a wonderful Peanut Butter Cookie, I love them with a cup of tea. Hope you are having a great week end and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

