Hearty Veggie Beef Soup

If I could only express to you how happy I am to be blogging right now… I just spent the last 3 days laid up in bed feeling oh SO sick.  I do not do the whole “lay around and do nothing” thing very well but thankfully I have a wonderful husband who insisted I rest and get better while he tended to the kids and house.  Needless to say, nothing but pizza, cereal and PBJ’s were coming out of my kitchen. It is the best feeling in the world to feel well again and get back to cooking, cleaning (which rarely appeals to me) and taking care of my family.  I am also thrilled to be able to post some new recipes.

A few years back, I had a whole slew of prime rib left over from our New Years dinner.  My family is not good at eating left overs unless I make them into a whole new creation, especially meat.  I created this recipe and fell in love with it.  This time, we had about 1 and 1/2 lbs of left over grilled sirloin steaks that I didn’t want to waste so I was thrilled to make this soup again.  You don’t have to use any fancy cuts of meat, it would be wonderful with ground beef or ground turkey as well. It is packed with lots of delicious veggies and tons of flavor.

Ingredients:

1 onion, chopped

6 cloves minced garlic

3 ribs celery

3 carrots, sliced

1/2 lb fresh (or frozen) green beans – don’t use canned, they will turn to mush.  Cut into 1 inch pieces.

2 small zucchini’s (I like to use one yellow and one green), quartered then sliced

1/2 cup fresh parsley, chopped

1 can garbanzo beans

1 can kidney beans

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can tomato sauce

1 can tomato paste

1-2 lbs meat (prime rib, sirloin, ground beef, ground turkey… your choice)

8 cups water

3 Tbsp beef base

1 tsp basil

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 tsp ground pepper

1 tsp salt, to taste

 

Directions:

Prepare all of your veggies.  In a large pan, saute onion, garlic, celery and carrots in 1 Tbsp butter until onions are translucent.  Add to large pot.  Add grean beans, zucchini , parsley, beans, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste, meat, beef base, water, basil, garlic powder and ground pepper.

Bring soup to a boil then reduce to a simmer for 4-5 hours (or longer if you wish.) If you are using ground meat, you don’t need to cook it quite as long as all of your veggies are nice and tender.  Before you serve your soup, add your salt and taste.  Add more spice, salt or pepper if needed.  This could easily be cooked in a crock pot.  It also freezes very well.  Add cooked short macaroni noodles if you wish.

Pair with Rosemary French Rolls (coming soon).

 

This entry was posted in Soups.

One comment on “Hearty Veggie Beef Soup

  1. Karyn says:

    Sounds fabulous! This would go great with your rolls. I love soups so much!

Leave a Reply

