Rustic Potato Cakes

I literally dreamed this recipe to life last night.  I woke up and told my husband that I had a new recipe to try from my dreams. I immediately got to peeling potatoes and WOW! I wish this happened more often! They were A-MAZING! Crunchy on the outside, smooth and tender and a little cheesy on the inside – My husband said they were his new favorite breakfast food.  They would also be an awesome side dish with a nice steak.  This recipe made 7 potato cakes.

Ingredients:

6 small potatoes – My bag of potatoes had some serious runts so this is what I had.  3 large potatoes would be much easier to hold on to (see directions)

1/2 medium onion, finely diced

3 Tbsp flour

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 Tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

3 Tbsp vegetable oil

Directions:

My method is a little crazy but I followed exactly what I had done in my dream.  Peel potatoes then rinse.  With your potato peeler, keep peeling on your “peeled” potatoes in to a bowl until you can’t hold on to them anymore.  Be very careful doing this as I’m sure it would be easy to catch your finger with the peeler. If you have a mandaline that has a really thin setting, that would be a better option because it is a little tricky to peel once your potato starts getting small.  A food processor would also work OK as long as the setting was very thin and you aren’t going to end up with “slices.”

Add flour, salt, parsley, onion, pepper, garlic powder and cheese.  Mix by hand until it is all evenly distributed.  Heat a large, non stick or cast iron frying pan on medium-high heat for several minutes.  Add 1 Tbsp of oil for each batch.  Take a small handful of the potato mixture and flatten into a patty in your hand.  Carefully place in hot pan.  You should hear a good sizzle. I was comfortably able to fit 3 patties into my 12 inch pan at a time.  Cook for 5-6 minutes on first side or until the underside is nice and brown and crisp.  Flip with a spatula to other side.  Cook on that side for 5-6 minutes or until that side is brown and crunchy as well.  If you find that the potatoes are browning too fast, turn heat down.  You can keep cooking them until you feel that the centers are translucent and cooked all of the way through.  It is most important to be sure you get the initial seer on both sides. Remove and place on a paper towel while you cook the remaining batches.

Rustic Potato Cakes was featured on the blog below.  Check it out!

http://www.jillianskitchen.com/2012/03/15/rustic-potato-pancakes/

9 comments on “Rustic Potato Cakes

  1. Katie says:

    These came out so good! I had a few poor potatoes sitting on my counter that needed use so I decided to try this recipe out for lunch today. I also don’t have a mandolin slicer and I know I would cut off a finger or two if I just held the potato in my hand as I sliced them. So I just put a fork thru the potato as I sliced them which made it easier for me anyway! I also didn’t have parsley on hand but I did have cilantro and it came out soooooo good! I will definitely be making these again. Thank you!!!!! 🙂

    • Oh I am so glad you liked them. I still chuckle to myself every time I remember the morning I woke up after dreaming about these potato cakes and had to make them right then so I wouldn’t forget anything. I used a potato peeler to slice mine super thin. It got a little dicy when the potato started getting smaller and smaller. Thanks for taking the time to let me know about your recipe success. It always makes my day!

  2. […] found a wonderful potato pancake recipe on Pinterest from the blog Something Sweet Something Salty. The idea is extremely simple and the results are delicious! This was easy to make and and even […]

  3. Andrea says:

    This looks so good! One thing you might try is the bag of OreIda shredded potatoes. Not sure if it would work the same since you are using raw potatoes, but if so, it would save a ton of time! I would think it would work the same if you cooked them from frozen. I’ll try and let you know, if you want. 🙂

  4. bellegroveatportconway says:

    These look so good! Great idea to add to my future bed and breakfast menu! Thanks for the great idea!

Leave a Reply

