Breakfast Smoothies

I make these almost every morning for my boys for breakfast.  I usually wake up with a light tapping on my shoulder and two little voices asking me if I will make them a smoothie.  They are so healthy and delicious. Just like my boys, I look forward to my smoothie every morning.  You can add so many different variations to this recipe.  This is just the basic recipe, then you can add whatever your heart desires.

Ingredients:

2 cups sliced – or about 10 large frozen strawberries (If you use frozen berries, you don’t have to worry about diluting your smoothie with ice.  I buy the big bag from Costco.  They are such nice berries and by far the best price you can find unless you are picking them from your own garden.)

1 vanilla yogurt (My favorite is Yoplait.  I feel like it has the smoothest, non-tangy flavor)

1 ripe bananas (the riper the banana, the sweeter the smoothie – just don’t use the rotten ones.  Ripe bananas will eliminate any need for added sugar, sometimes I add 2 bananas if I am needing to get rid of them)

2 cups apple juice (you can use any kind of juice, I just find the apple to be the sweetest)

I have also added ground flax-seed, spinach, peaches, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, or whatever seasonal fruit I have in my fridge or freezer.

Directions:

Place all ingredients in blender and blend until completely smooth.

If I do happen to make extra smoothie, I put it in popsicle molds and make smoothie-pops.  This is really fun because in the summer-time, the boys can have a popsicle for breakfast, which they think is so cool!

2 comments on “Breakfast Smoothies

  1. Lee Ann says:

    Excited for you and this adventure!!!! I’m loving looking through your recipes! Just thought I’d throw in another tip about the bananas. I freeze them for my smoothies. When they’re nice and ripe I slice them up. Freeze them in a single layer. Once frozen throw them in a container. Like you said – no need for ice, and a great way to not waste bananas 🙂 BTW, my fave smoothie and afternoon drink is banana, cocoa powder, almond milk, peanut butter, and sometimes some espresso.

    Good luck to you and I’ll check in often!

Leave a Reply

