Mountain O’ Caramel Corn with Chocolate Drizzle

Ok, I made this yesterday and I have an awesome trophy of a sugar bump on my tongue because I JUST CAN’T STOP eating it! It makes a huge batch and I have done a really amazing job taking care of eating most of it so my family doesn’t have to ingest all of those calories…just watching out for my family.

This is so inexpensive to make, considering when you buy it at the fair, you pay like $75 for a little 6 oz bag.  It is so delicious and crunchy, not the chewy kind that gets glued to your back teeth.

Ingredients:

1 cup un-popped popcorn kernels

3 Tbsp vegetable oil

1 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup light corn syrup

1 tsp salt

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

3 ounces chocolate (feel free to use more, chocolate gives me headaches so I have to limit myself)

Feel free to add some peanuts, pecans, almonds, raisins, whatever your little heart desires.

Directions:

Time to bust out your largest pan or wok (I use my 12 inch frying pan).  If you don’t have a large pan, get a big metal bowl, some foil and some tongs.

Heat 1 Tbsp oil in pan over medium-high heat.  Add 1/3 cup un-popped kernels and cover with lid.  Shake shake shake that pan back and forth until your kernels are all popped.  I wait until there are a few seconds between each pop and immediately dump into a large bowl.  Don’t stop shaking or your kernels will burn.  If you are using a bowl, do exactly as you would with the pan (just be careful not to burn yourself). Feel free to use your air popper if you have one.  I do not, so this is the next best option. Continue this in three batches until corn is all popped.

Melt butter in a sauce pan over medium heat.  Add sugar, salt and corn syrup.  Bring to a gentle boil. Boil five minutes without stirring.  Remove from heat.

 

Stir in vanilla and baking soda.

Pour over popcorn.
Stir until popcorn is well coated.

Confession-I tried this yesterday with a paper bag instead of a bowl because I have heard all about “paper bag caramel corn.”  Oh boy, was I disappointed.  The bag ate half of my caramel!  I’m serious! I contemplated eating the bag because it had so much caramel stuck to the sides.  So, gonna stick with the good ol’ bowl method from now on.

Bake at 250 degrees for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. Immediately pour onto counter on wax paper, foil or parchment paper.  Separate kernels to cool. (Don’t be looking too close at my oven :))

Place 2/3 chopped chocolate pieces in bowl.  Microwave for 1 minute, stir.  Microwave for 15 seconds at a time, stirring each time until chocolate is melted.  Add additional 1/3 chocolate and stir until smooth.  (This is the unscientific way to temper chocolate). It isn’t exact but does the trick for the most part.  Using a small spatula or knife, scoop chocolate and drizzle over top of cooling popcorn.  Let cool completely before eating…HA! Good one!.  Okay, so snack away but it will stick to your teeth before it is cool.  Store in an airtight container to keep crunchy.

 

 

One comment on “Mountain O’ Caramel Corn with Chocolate Drizzle

  1. Miz Helen says:

    Pop Corn is one of my favorite treats, and you recipe is just awesome. I can’t wait to have a bowl of this special popcorn. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you have a great week end and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

