Countdown To Superbowl – Old Bay Hot Wings

I have to be honest, I wasn’t thrilled about making hot wings for my blog.  You see, only once in my life have I ever had wings and REALLY loved them.  It was almost 11 years ago, the night my hubby and I tied the knot.  We had gone down to a little bar in our hotel to get a midnight snack and ordered hot wings.  They were A-MAZING!  We devoured them.  I have always remembered those wings and since then, no other wing has held a candle to them…UNTIL NOW!

Thanks to Joshua at www.seriouseats.com, I now have my forever recipe for hot wings.  I had actually intended on making these today, tasting one to be sure it was blog-worthy, and saving the rest for our weekend company and/or Superbowl party ….uuuhhh…that didn’t happen…. I actually ate all but four of them.  Looks like I am going to be making another batch for the guests.  These wings are the perfect amount of spicy. They are baked (not fried, which I love) and they are crispy on the outside, and coated with the most amazing sauce- the perfect wing (in my opinion). I should also mention they were super simple to make, just make sure you start them the night before the Superbowl. 

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp Old Bay Seasoning (I didn’t have this in my spice collection but I am so glad I do now.  I would imagine you could get it at any grocery store.  I happened to find mine at Cash ‘n’ Carry in the big, last me 10 years container).

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 lbs chicken wings

2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted (I used salted and decreased my salt by 1/4 tsp)

2 Tbsp Frank’s Red Hot sauce (this should be found in the condiment aisle of any grocery store)

2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

Directions:

In a small bowl, mix together Old Bay, baking powder, and salt.

I almost always rinse my chicken, especially if the skin is still in tact to make sure there are no feathers, bone fragments, etc… you may have noticed by now that I am really picky when it comes to cooking and eating meat.  I always want to make sure it can be eaten with confidence and that you will not get any surprises (fat, gristle, bone, etc). Just be sure, after you rinse it, that you pat it dry with paper towels.  You don’t want that extra water on the chicken when you cook it.

Place wings in a large bowl and sprinkle in the Old Bay mixture, tossing to evenly coat. 

Spray a wire rack (I used my cooling rack) with non-stick spray.  Arrange wings in a single layer on wire rack, then set inside a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil, leaving a little space between each wing.  Cover wings with plastic wrap and place with wings in refrigerator for 8 hours to overnight.

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.  Move baking sheet with the wings to the oven and cook until browned and crisp, about 30-45 minutes. If they stick to your wire rack, use a metal spatula to loosen them.

Combine butter, hot sauce, and Worcestershire in a large bowl.  Place wings in the bowl with the sauce mixture and toss to thoroughly coat.  Move wings to a platter and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

