Quick and Easy Pumpkin Pancakes

Maybe I should have called this Pumpkin Month since it seems like it is going to take me a whole month to get around to blogging a weeks worth of recipes.  Thanks everyone for always being so loyal in following my blog even though my life gets busy and I have to put it on the back burner sometimes.  I love blogging so much and wish I had more hours in my day so I could have a daily recipe for you.  Oh well, we do what we can I guess.

It has been so hard deciding which pumpkin recipes to make for this series.  There are so many good ones!  One thing I knew for sure was that I had to blog pumpkin pancakes.  Nothing says fall like pumpkin pancakes on a crisp Sunday morning.  These are super fast to make and are always a huge hit! The beauty of pancake mix is that you can play around with so many different ingredients.  For example, instead of adding pumpkin and spices you can add mashed ripe bananas, cooked oatmeal and cinnamon OR applesauce, oatmeal and cinnamon.  Just always reserve some of the liquid recommended on the package recipe until the very end so you can be sure to accommodate for the extra moisture from the added ingredients.  Pancake mixes are very forgiving so if you find it’s too thick, add more liquid, if it’s too thin, add a bit more mix.

Ingredients:

3 cups Bisquick (or your favorite pancake mix, *see below for tips*)

3 eggs

1 and 1/2 cups milk

***** these are the Bisquick package directions, you will add the following ingredients below to the mix of your choice along with any other ingredients called for on the package directions)

1 cup pumpkin puree

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

Mix all dry ingredients.  Add eggs, milk, pumpkin and vanilla, reserving some of the milk (or water) until the end so you can get the consistency you desire.  I prefer my pancakes thick and fluffy, you may prefer to add a bit more liquid for a thinner pancake.

Heat pan or skillet over medium heat for several minutes to evenly heat the pan.  If you start your pan too hot, your pancakes will brown too quickly and result in a gooey center.  Flip when undersides are golden brown and repeat on other side.  Serve with a slab of butter, a dusting of powdered sugar and some real maple syrup…. MMM.. MMM.. MMM! Breakfast is served!

These also freeze well so if you have extras, throw them in a freezer bag and then pop in the microwave for a quick, yummy breakfast.

How exciting! This recipe has been featured on some awesome blogs.  Stop by and check them out!

topdreamer.com/irresistibly-delicious-pancake-recipes/

canopi.com/content/2013/9/25/15-mouth-watering-pumpkin-recipes/

bust.com/10-quick-and-easy-meals-to-make-with-pumpkin-bigpumpkin.html

diycandy.com/2013/09/20-delicious-pumpkin-recipes-fall/?pid=302

http://homeandheartdiy.com/pumpkin-pancakes/

Quick and Easy Pumpkin Pancakes

  • Servings: 5-8
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

pumpkin pancakes

Ingredients:

3 cups Bisquick (or your favorite pancake mix, *see below for tips*)

3 eggs

1 and 1/2 cups milk

***** these are the Bisquick package directions, you will add the following ingredients below to the mix of your choice along with any other ingredients called for on the package directions)

1 cup pumpkin puree

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients.
  2. Add eggs, milk, pumpkin and vanilla, reserving some of the milk (or water) until the end so you can get the consistency you desire.
  3. Heat pan or skillet over medium heat for several minutes to evenly heat the pan.  If you start your pan too hot, your pancakes will brown too quickly and result in a gooey center.  Flip when undersides are golden brown and repeat on other side.
  4. Serve with a slab of butter, a dusting of powdered sugar and some real maple syrup.

 

 

27 comments on “Quick and Easy Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Terry Baker says:

    I’ve been making these for a few years and they never disappoint me. Taste just like the homemade ones I used to make! Just made them last week.

  2. Lydia says:

    3 words: YUM YUM YUM! 🙂

  3. Tried the Pumpkin pancakes this morning and was delish! I used Trader Joes Gluten Free Pancake mix and it was perfect! I tripled the pancake recipe (3/4 C mix was original) so I ended up with 2 1/4C dry mix 3 eggs and triple water (I used mostly almond milk in lieu of water) and they were perfect!!! Thank you so much for sharing!! Thick like we like them and so FALL!

  4. […] 2) Pumpkin Pancakes – Last fall we discovered that our favorite diner in town serves AMAZING (and very filling) pumpkin pancakes during the fall time. Given that we rarely go out to breakfast now with the little guy (leaving the house before 7am on the weekend isn’t all the appealing to us), I wanted to find a way to still enjoy this delicious breakfast. My husband is in charge of making pancakes on Sunday (yes, every Sunday – we actually call it Pancake Sunday), and this recipe is perfect because it uses Bisquick which is how we normally make pancakes anyway. Now we just have two different mixing bowls and we both get what we want! (Note: I cut this recipe in 1/3 for just me and I usually can’t finish the pancakes myself – they’re so filling! I just use 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of all the others in the recipe.) […]

  5. Arielle says:

    I love your blog, your posts are amazing and everything looks so good! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I can’t wait to read more.

  6. […] Pumpkin Butter/Coffee Creamer/Mini Pumpkin Pies/Pancakes/Macaroons […]

  7. Jackie says:

    I woke up this morning in the mood for pumpkin pancakes, but didn’t want a complicated recipe. I checked out Pinterest, and voila! I found this delicious recipe! I used the eases “just add water” pancake mix and they were SOOO yummy! My 7 year old daughter, who gives thumbs down to everything pumpkin, LOVED these. They are a big hit and will be made again….thank you!!!

  8. Sparrow says:

    Thanks for the recipe! I’m so ready for Autumn so I made these for my family this morning and we love them!

  9. Mamaof5 says:

    Delicious and easy! All the kids loved them… well except the two year old who refuses to even try pancakes. This will be a regular at our table. Thank you!!!

  10. jeri says:

    These are the best things. Ever! I adjusted the bisquick recipe amounts to 2 cups/2 eggs/1 cup milk, but kept the pumpkin part as is, I added baking powder because I like extra fluffy, and they were amazing! These will be made again and again!

  11. […] Pingback: Quick and Easy Pumpkin Pancakes « Something Sweet Something Salty […]

  12. […] pumpkin pancakes. I used almond milk & they were still delicious. I added a little extra milk to thin the batter a bit. This recipe made about 14 pancakes. I topped with candied pecans & powdered sugar.Recipe link:https://somethingsweetsomethingsalty.wordpress.com/2012/10/22/quick-and-easy-pumpkin-pancakes/ […]

  13. […] Have breakfast for dinner. […]

  14. Hi! If I use a “Buttermilk Complete” mix, do I still add the eggs and milk? I’ve been on the lookout for a good AND easy pumpkin pancake recipe. I think I’ve found it. 🙂

    • Hi Evi! If the package directions do not call for eggs or milk then you don’t add them. Follow the package directions. Just add the spices to the dry mix then hold off on a bit of the milk/water to account from the moisture of the pumpkin and vanilla. Should work like a charm 🙂 Good luck! Let me know if you have anymore questions!

  15. Nickie H. says:

    Hi! I stumbled on your website and I cannot wait to make these pancakes! This one was by far the easiest and most delicious sounding, I loved it so much I featured it on my Top 15 easiest, cheapest, and quickest Fall recipes list. If you want a badge for your site or just to check it out feel free to look at it out here:
    http://nickieslittlebubble.blogspot.com/2013/09/the-top-15-fall-recipes.html
    Have a good day!

  16. Tara says:

    Absolutely delicious!! I made these for breakfast this morning (I followed the recipe exactly) and they were perfect!! It’s only my husband and I so I made the whole batch, put the extra in a quart ziplock bag and froze them. Then on busy mornings, I can pop a couple in the toaster oven and still have a delicious homemade breakfast. Thank you for this yummy fall recipe 🙂

  17. Jaynie says:

    Jaynie
    These sound delicious and so quick and easy to make. I really liked the pictures and great instructions, because I don’t cook much, so this recipe will be easy for me to try. I just LOVE pumpkin pancakes in the fall! Thanks for sharing!

  18. Heather Henderson says:

    Alissa! I have been meaning to thank you for months now for this awesome blog!!!!! I saw one of your posts on Facebook and decided to look at your blog and I LOVE it!! I am (in the past, now) one of the biggest wimps in the kitchen! I was always so worried about not being about to do it right or not having all the ingredients that I wouldn’t even try. Lame I know;) I have taken a few cooking classes from my aunt and those helped a bunch but she is not around to help me every night in the kitchen so that is where you and your blog came in. It got my booty headed in the right direction! Ok this is getting to be a novel so I will stop now but thanks for getting me moving and not afraid to try things because your baby steps and pictures really help a poor pitiful wanna be like me;) I hope when we are finished up here in Texas that we find a job close to you cause I might need to have a little slumber party/cooking class every week! Love and miss you bunches and hope all is well with you and your cute family!!!! Heather

    • Heather, you just made my whole week. I am so glad that you are liking my blog. I always wonder if people actually make (and like) the recipes because so few people actually comment on them. It just makes me feel so warm and fuzzy because I started this blog for that exact reason. So many people I know are intimidated by cooking and think they can’t cook but I think it’s all about having good recipes and specific instructions. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving… And you definitely need to move close enough for slumber parties and cooking lessons. Love you!!!!

Leave a comment