Macaroni and Meatballs

Many of you already know about the passing of my great grandmother (my paternal grandma’s mother) two weeks ago.  Last night, my dear (paternal) grandpa passed away too.  So much lost in so little time, especially for my sweet grandma.

If I could only describe him well enough for you to catch a glimpse of who he was: He was humble, unselfish, virtuous, righteous, loving, warm, happy, hard-working, and sincere.  There is not a single person in my family that did not look up to him as an example of how we want to live our lives.  He and my grandma had the most beautiful marriage of 59 years.  They truly put each other first every single day of their lives. My grandpa’s advice to me on my wedding day 11 years ago was to “never end your day without settling an argument (never go to bed angry) and pray aloud together every night before you go to bed.

Today I am featuring my grandpa’s very favorite recipe of my grandma’s for the past 59 years. My grandma made breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day for my grandpa and is a huge inspiration to me in my love for cooking. This recipe is country comfort food at its absolute best.

Ingredients:

2 cups macaroni noodles (1 heaping cup dry)

1 lb ground beef

1/2 cup onion, chopped (or 1 Tbsp dried onion) – I usually use fresh onion but I used onion powder this time since somehow I left it off of my grocery list. I added 1 tsp to the ground beef and 1 tsp to the gravy.

1/4 lb shredded cheddar cheese (or 2 cups)

1/2 cup flour

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cube butter or margarine

2 Tbsp ketchup

2 and 1/2 cups milk

Directions:

Shape ground beef into small 1″ balls then brown in a slightly oiled skillet with onion, salt and pepper.  Remove from pan and put in a casserole dish.

Start cooking macaroni.

To make sauce, melt butter with meat drippings, then stir in flour, making a roux. Mix ketchup and milk together then add to roux stirring constantly.  Bring to a boil and add cheese, stirring until melted.  Taste and add additional salt and pepper as needed. Drain macaroni and put in casserole dish with meatballs, pour on sauce and mix gently.  Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

John Campbell 05/19/1935 – 03/08/2012

I will miss you to my very core, every day Grandpa. I love you.

4 comments on “Macaroni and Meatballs

  1. Deana says:

    That looks really good I can’t wait to try this recipe. Thanks for linking up @CountryMommaCooks…..have a wonderful weekend:)

  2. Donna says:

    I am SO sorry for your loss! Can’t imagine your heartache at two losses like this so close together.Blessings to your Grandma also.May she be at peace. And may your dear Grandpa rest in peace with the Lord.I am going to make this recipe today in his honor and will say a prayer for him tonight while we enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

